Rico Blanco, Raimund Marasigan and Aia de Leon: ‘Boto Mo iPatrol Mo!’ (BMPM)

Three of the country’s most popular rock vocalists are joining forces with ABS-CBN’s “Boto Mo, iPatrol Mo: Ako ang Simula” movement to urge Filipinos to participate more actively in preparations for the 2010 Presidential Elections.

Singer-songwriter Rico Blanco, Imago vocalist Aia De Leon, and Sandwich frontman Raimund Marasigan collaborated in “Ako ang Simula,” the theme song of ABS-CBN’s election campaign, which calls on Filipinos, especially the youth, to register, vote, and make the 2010 elections work. The song, written by ABS-CBN creative director Ira Zabat and composed by Mike Villegas, is about taking the initiative to start the change in the country. A key element in the song is the signature drumbeat heard in all “Boto Mo, iPatrol Mo” plugs since the campaign was first launched in 2007. Zabat said the drumbeat signifies unity and the urgent call for action.

This urgency is also reflected in the lyrics with words like “Wag nang mahimbing sa sariling mundo/Wag nang iwaldas ang dekadang bago/Ako ang tutupad sa pangakong ito/Ako ang Simula ng pagbabago.” (Don’t rest in your own world/ Don’t waste another decade/ I will be the one to fulfill this promise/I will be the start of change)

ABS-CBN Newsgathering Head Charie Villa added, “We want to tell the youth that there is no time to waste. The change you want for the country can happen now, and it can start from you. The youth, as the largest voting sector, can turn this country around. They can do it and they should.”

Rico, Aia, Raimund, and an army of Pinoy youth will brandish their “thumbmarks” of commitment in the “Ako ang Simula” music video, which will premier on Thursday (June 11) during the Kapamilya network’s annual flag-raising ceremony from 9:55am to 10:10am on ABS-CBN. The video was conceptualized and executed by the ABS-CBN’s Creative Communications Management.

Meanwhile, “Boto Mo, iPatrol Mo: Ako ang Simula” will make a repeat of its groundbreaking May 11 multiplatform launch on Friday (June 12), the Philippines’ Independence Day.

Once again, ABS-CBN anchors will report live from different points in the country – Pinky Webb in Legaspi, Julius Babao in Iloilo, and Ces Oreña Drilon in General Santos City. “Umagang Kay Ganda” will also air live from Eastwood City in Quezon City.

Thousands of Filipinos are also expected to turn up for the nationwide voter registration to be spearheaded by the Commission on Elections. They may also sign-up as “Boto Patrollers” and take part in all “Boto Mo, iPatrol Mo: Ako ang Simula” activities. There will be BMPM booths in Legaspi, Iloilo, General Santos, Eastwood, and at the Rizal Park in Manila.

ABS-CBN took the lead in pioneering an election advocacy for clean and honest elections. Aside from multimedia news coverage and satellite voter registrations, it has also enabled the public to get to know the possible presidential candidates in 2010 through the ANC Leadership Forum.

On Sunday (June 14), ABS-CBN’s news anchors will also appear on “ASAP ‘09” to continue engaging Filipinos here and abroad in this year-long campaign. “We have one year to change traditional politics in our country. We can do this if we act and stay vigilant as early as now,” ABS-CBN Senior Vice President for News and Current Affairs Maria Ressa said.

Visit or for election news and events. Stay tuned to “Umagang Kay Ganda,” “TV Patrol World,” and “Bandila” for “Boto Mo, iPatrol Mo: Ako ang Simula” updates.

(ABS-CBN Press Release)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.