Six Amateur Directors Win Film Grants from ANC

The ABS-CBN News Channel (ANC SKYCABLE ch. 27) recently awarded film grants to six promising filmmakers who will show their vision of the country alongside 14 established directors in the project “amBisyon2010.”

“AmBisyon2010,” conceptualized by directors Emman Dela Cruz and Paolo Villaluna and produced by ANC executive producer Patricia Evangelista, aims to show the state of the nation from the eyes of 20 bright Filipino filmmakers.

Each film will tackle issues that will decide the 2010 elections such as corruption, democracy, population, health, education, and human rights.

Accomplished indie filmmakers Ditsi Carolino, Emmanuel Dela Cruz, Kiri Dalena, Henry Frejas, Jade Castro, Ellen Ramos, Jon Red, Jerrold Tarog, John Torres, Villaluna, TV and movie directors Jeffrey Jeturian and Erik Matti, and Cannes Film Festival winners Brillante Mendoza and Raymond Red are participating in the project.

The remaining six slots were given to amateur directors Anna Matutina, Pam Miras, Aissa Penafiel, Emerson Reyes, Gym Lumbera and McRobert Nacario, who were chosen from a field of over 80 entries by the panel of ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs head Maria Ressa, Philippine Independent Filmmakers Cooperative chairman Dr. Clodualdo del Mundo, and publisher and critic Erwin Romulo.

“AmBisyon2010” will culminate in a series of grand theater and television premieres before the Philippines national elections.

Visit www.abs-cbnnews/ambisyon2010 for the latest on “ambisyon2010.”