Cinemalaya 2010 Finalists Announced

The Cinemalaya Foundation has named the ten finalists for the 6th Annual Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival.

Out of 198 entries, 10 finalists were picked to compete in the annual full length feature category. In alphabetical order by film title, the finalists are:

by Sheron Dayoc

by Gutierrez Mangansakan II

by Dan Villegas and Paul Sta. Ana

by Kim Homer C. Garcia

by Danny Añonuevo

by Francis Xavier Pasion

by Arnel Mardoquio

“Si Techie, Si Teknoboy at si JuanaB”
by Art Katipunan

“Siya ang Mayor Ko (Vox Populi)”
by Dennis N. Marasigan

“The Leaving”
by Ian-Dean S. Loreños

Each finalist will receive a P500,000 production grant from the Cinemalaya Foundation.

Meanwhile, an “Open Category” is being introduced this year. It is an an initial venture of the festival to feature works by veteran Filipino directors. According to Cinemalaya Foundation Board of Director Laurice Guillen, those who have directed at least 3 full-length feature films that have been released commercially qualify in this category.

From out of the 20 or so entries, only 5 got to the final round. These films are:

“Ang Paglilitis ni Bonifacio”
by Mario O’Hara

“Isang Pirasong Buhay”
by Mark Meily

“Pink Halu-Halo”
by Joselito Altarejos

by Joel Lamangan

“Two Funerals”
by Gil Portes

Finalists in the Short Film category to be announced.

This year’s festival will run from July 9 to July 18, 2010 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines. P200,000 prize awaits the Best Full-Length Feature Film entry while P100,000 prize awaits the Best Short Feature Film entry.

1 Comment on Cinemalaya 2010 Finalists Announced

  1. Mace Saladero // October 13, 2010 at 7:16 pm //

    definitely… with a civilized world of free people.. most blessed creatures on earth…. most priviledged …. goes with responsibilities

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.