‘Wanted: Border’ is the Big Winner in the 2009 Cinema One Originals Film Festival

The artsy horror film Wanted: Border (spelled as is) starring Rosanna Roces took the top plum in the awards night of the 2009 Cinema One Originals Digital Film Festival.

Directed by Ray Gibraltar, and starring Rosanna Roces, Kristoffer Rhys Grabato, Sunshine Teodoro, Marisol Alquizar, and Raffy Tejada, Wanted Border is a “dark comedy” that follows lost people to look for refuge that eventually becomes a nightmare.

Rosanna Roces won the Best Actress award for her portrayal of a religious fanatic that owns a boarding house and eatery in Wanted: Border. She has a well-written speech prepared which she read after receiving her Cinema One Best Actress trophy. She recalled that she won her last acting award in the 1990s which was more than a decade ago.

Wanted: Border also bagged the awards for Best Production Design, Best Music, Best Cinematography, Best Screenplay and Best Director for Ray Gibraltar.

Mikhel Campos (Click, Captain Barbell), delivered the upset of the night when he won the Best Actor award for his role as Papu, a loving boyfriend with a size-related problem in Maximus and Minimus. Mikhel bested the award-winning Baron Geisler who is also a lead star in Maximus and Minimus. In the said film, Mikhel had a number of masturbation scenes and he even showed his butt.

The children’s film Si Baning, Si Maymay at ang Asong si Lobo bagged the Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress awards. Child actor Jan Harley Hicana took home the Best Supporting Actor trophy while Rio Locsin won her very first acting award in her decades-long career, the Best Supporting Actress in Cinema One 2009!

Here is the complete list of winners in the 2009 Cinema One Originals Digital Film Festival:

Audience Award (Viewers’ Choice):
Paano Ko Sasabihin

Best Production Design:
Al Alacapa, Winston Lazaro and Allan Hilado (Wanted: Border)

Best Music:
Malik Lopez and Eric Romulo (Wanted: Border)

Best Cinematography:
Ogie Sugatan (Wanted: Border)

Best Editing:
Anna Isabel Matutina (Paano Ko Sasabihin)

Best Screenplay:
Ray Gibraltar (Wanted: Border)

Best Supporting Actor:
Jan Harley Hicana (Si Baning Si Maymay at ang Asong si Bobo)

Best Supporting Actress:
Rio Locsin (Si Baning si Maymay at ang Asong si Bobo)

Best Actor:
Mikhel Campos (Maximus and Minimus)

Best Actress:
Rosanna Roces (Wanted: Border)

Best Director:
Ray Gibraltar (Wanted: Border)

Best Film:
Wanted: Border

Special Honorary Award:
Brillante Mendoza
Danny Zialcita

Special Mention:
Paano Ko Sasabihin

15 Cinema One Legends:

Fernando Poe Jr.
Susan Roces
Christopher de Leon
Nida Blanca
Maricel Soriano
Vilma Santos
Nora Aunor
Aga Muhlach
Sharon Cuneta
Judy Ann Santos
Piolo Pascual
Claudine Barretto
Robin Padilla
John Lloyd Cruz

The Board of Judges is comprised of 4-time grand slam winning actress and Star for All Seasons Gov. Vilma Santos, award-winning filmmaker Khavn dela Cruz, screenplay writer Armando Lao, ABS-CBN Creative Manager and award-winning writer Ricky Lee, Urian board member and UP Diliman Dean of the College of Mass Communication Rolando Tolentino.

The Cinema One Originals 2009 Awards Night was hosted by the producer-actress tandem of Piolo Pascual and Eugene Domingo. Stars who performed were Sam Milby, Nikki Gil, The Giggerboys, Bernie Ann and AJ Tabaldo.

Award presentors include KC Concepcion, Mark Gil, Tetchie Agbayani, Dimples Romana, Baron Geisler, Enchong Dee, Rosanna Roces, Anita Linda, Cherry Pie Picache, Dimples Romana, Ronnie Lazaro, Rio Locsin and Toni Gonzaga among others.

(More photos from the awards night to follow)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.