ABS-CBN Wins Big at the 43rd Catholic Mass Media Awards

ABS-CBN took home Best Station ID and five other awards at the recent 43rd Catholic Mass Media Awards to end 2021 on a high note.

Its 2020 Christmas theme “Ikaw Ang Liwanag at Ligaya,” which won Best Station ID, is one of three videos produced by the ABS-CBN Creative Communication Management (CCM) division that received awards this year.

The others are “Pag-alala sa Kadakilaan: Tribute to Frontliners” that won Best Public Service TV Ad, and “Hindi Ka Nag-iisa,” a teaser for the teleserye “Huwag Kang Mangamba” that was chosen as Best TV Ad (Branded).

In the music category, Star Music’s “We Give Our Yes,” performed by Jamie Rivera, won Best Music Video. Another inspirational song, “Heal,” which is produced by ABS-CBN Music International and sang by some of the most popular talents and emerging artists in Southeast Asia, was hailed as Best Secular Song.

Completing the winners from ABS-CBN in this year’s CMMA, an award-giving body committed to promote a responsible and values-filled media, is Knowledge Channel’s “Wikaharian.” The educational program received a Special Citation under the Best Children & Youth Program category for its laudable efforts to aid in the learning of the Filipino youth.

Recently, Knowledge Channel Foundation Inc. (KCFI) president and executive director Rina Lopez-Bautista was also named one of “Asia’s 2021 Heroes of Philanthropy” by the prestigious Forbes Asia magazine for her efforts in helping make quality education accessible to as many children, especially during this pandemic.

Similarly, other Kapamilya personalities and leaders were also honored by reputable publications before last year ended. Making Tatler Asia’s Most Influential List for their positive impact in their fields were Angel Locsin, Anne Curtis, Bianca Gonzalez, Gary Valenciano, John Arcilla, Karen Davila, Korina Sanchez-Roxas, Lea Salonga, Martin Nievera, Moira Dela Torre, Regine Velasquez, Sarah Geronimo, and Toni Gonzaga. They were joined by ABS-CBN chairman Mark Lopez, ABS-CBN president and CEO Carlo Katigbak, and “G Diaries” host and Creative Programs Inc. president Ernie Lopez.

Carlo and John were also among the “21 People Who Shaped 2021” list of luxury magazine Lifestyle Asia, who aim to recognize individuals that have made a “positive impact in the world, and have shaped public discourse.”

Meanwhile, in the 2021 Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal, Charo Santos was named Best Actress in a Leading Role, Rans Rifol won Best Actress in a Supporting Role, and Daniel Padilla took home the MMFF Jury Prize Award for their movie “Kun Maupay Man It Panahon.”

The film also won Second Best Picture, the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award, Best Production Design, and Best Visual Effects.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.