PH Wins 3 Awards in Asian Television Awards 2020

The 25th Asian Television Awards pushed through over the weekend via a virtual ceremony aired on their official social media accounts with the awarding of the Technical and Programming categories last January 15 and the Entertainment and Performance categories on January 16.

From 20 nominations last year, the Philippines only got 7 nods this year from a total of 257 recognitions across the region. From the 7 categories, three emerged as winners, two from Cignal TV and one from ABS-CBN.

Here are the ATA 2020 winners from the Philippines:

Best News Presenter/Anchor
Danie Laurel for BusinessWorld Live
ONE News / Cignal TV

Laurel bested Ken Lee for “Formosa News” (Taiwan), Anil Singhvi for “First Trade” (India), Zilvia Iskandar for “Primetime News” (Indonesia), Kishore Ajwani for “Sau Baat ki Ek Baat” (India).

Best Sports Programme
PBA Rush / Cignal TV

This show bested “Live @ LPGA Women’s Australian Open 2020” (Australia).

Best Branded Content (> 15 mins)
“Coke Studio Philippines Season 3: My Feels”

This show bested “Sing for the Stars” (Thailand), “LookThung Idol” (Thailand), “Konsert Orang Kita Orkestra RTM” (Malaysia), and “Voice of Mongolia” (Mongolia), and “Semenay Our Songs” (Taiwan).

The four other nominees from the Philippines that didn’t win are:

  • iWant’s “The Manilaners” for Best Documentary Series
  • ONE News’ “Story Of Our Islands: The Natural History of The Philippines” for Best Natural History or Wildlife Program
  • PBA Rush’s “2019 PBA Season” for Best Live Sports Coverage
  • ABS-CBN’s “Coke Studio Philippines Season 3: My Feels” for Best Music Programme

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.