‘The Good Son,’ Joshua and Jerome are 32nd Star Awards for TV Winners

ABS-CBN dominated the 32nd Star Awards for Television, winning a total of 34 awards including the coveted Best TV Station for the tenth straight year.

Leading the list of winners were Joshua Garcia and Jerome Ponce who tied for Best Drama Actor for their performances in “The Good Son,” which also bagged the Best Primetime TV Series award.

“Ang Probinsyano” stars Coco Martin and Yassi Pressman who won the German Moreno Power Tandem of the Year Award for their performance in consistently top-rating primetime series, and “ASAP,” which was elevated into the Hall of Fame.

Kim Chiu won Best Single Performance by an Actress for “Ipaglaban Mo,” while James Blanco won Best Single Performance by an Actor for “Maalaala Mo Kaya.” Lorna Tolentino won Best Drama Supporting Actress for “Asintado.”

Meanwhile, “Ipaglaban Mo” won Best Drama Anthology, “Goin Bulilit” won Best Gag Show, and “Wansapanataym” won Best Horror/Fantasy Show. Rufa Mae Quinto and Ogie Alcasid won Best Comedy Actress and Actor respectively for “Home Sweetie Home,” while Heaven Peralejo won Best New Female TV Personality for “Wansapanataym.”

“TV Patrol” won Best News Program, while anchor Bernadette Sembrano won Best Female Newscaster. “The Bottomline” won Best Public Affairs Program while host Boy Abunda won Best Public Affairs Program Host.

Meanwhile, “Tonight with Boy Abunda” won Best Celebrity Talk Show, while host Boy Abunda also won Best Celebrity Talk Show Host. “G Diaries” won Best Travel Show while host Gina Lopez won Best Travel Show Host. On the other hand, Korina Sanchez-Roxas won Best Magazine Show Host (“Rated K) and Luis Manzano won Best Talent Search Program Show Host (“I Can See Your Voice”).

“Umagang Kay Ganda” won Best Morning Show while “Matanglawin” won Best Educational Program. “Matanglawin” host Kim Atienza took home the award for Best Educational Program Host. ABS-CBN News’ 2017 year-end special “Paglayang Minamahal” won Best Documentary Special.

Kapamilya stars also nabbed various special awards: Julia Barreto (Female Star of the Night), “It’s Showtime’s” Greg Hawkins (Male Star of the Night), Yassi Pressman (Female Face of the Night), McCoy De Leon (Glowing Guy of the Night) and Heaven Peralejo (Glowing Gal of the Night).

The Star Awards for Television is an annual award-giving body by the Philippine Movie Press Club that recognizes outstanding TV programs and personalities in the Philippines.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.