Stars of ‘The Good Son’ Named Best Acting Ensemble at the 16th Gawad Tanglaw Awards

ABS-CBN, the country’s leading media and entertainment company, continues to be recognized for its outstanding work by the academe as it dominated the 16th Gawad Tanglaw Awards with 30 awards including Best TV Station.

“Maalala Mo Kaya” won best drama anthology with two of its guest artists Angel Locsin and Yves Flores winning best actress and best actor, respectively, in a single performance.

Primetime hit “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano” won Teleserye ng Dekada while “ The Good Son” won best drama series as its cast won the award for best ensemble acting.

Fantaserye-series “La Luna Sangre,” meanwhile, won best speculative fiction series.

The stars of cult-favorite “Wildflower” took home various awards for their performances in the show. Maja Salvador and Aiko Melendez each won an award for best actress, while both Tirso Cruz III and RK Bagatsing won awards for best actor.

Sunday noontime show “ASAP” won best variety show, while “Pilipinas Got Talent” won best reality show.

In the news categories, two of ABS-CBN’s Docu-Central features “Di Ka Pasisiil” on the Marawi Siege and “Mga Boses sa Classroom” on poor but persevering students won best documentary special. “SOCO,” or “Scene of the Crime Operatives” won best investigative program.

ABS-CBN shows aired on cable channels took home various awards in the lifestyle category. ABS-CBN News Channel’s (ANC) “The Boss” won best business program, while “Beyond Politics” won best public affairs program. “Green Living” and “G-Diaries” each won an award for best educational program. “Trending with Kelly” won best lifestyle program, while “Hardball” won best sports program. “Chinoy TV” won best magazine show. Cinema One’s “Inside the Cinema” won best talk show.

The network’s shows and personalities also took home five special Presidential Jury awards, considered the highest Gawad Tanglaw nod for arts and culture.

Angel Locsin won a Gawad Parangal para sa Adbokasiya sa Kababaihan at Lipunan, for actively upholding and advocating women’s rights.

Meanwhile, ANC programs “Air Safari” and “Square Off,” and hosts Gina Lopez (“G-Diaries”) and Sen. Loren Legarda (“Dayaw”) each won Presidential Jury Awards for Culture, Arts and Sustainable Development Communication.

The Gawad Tanglaw, or Gawad Tagapuring mga Akademisyan ng Aninong Gumagalaw, is an award-giving body composed of film critics, scholars, historians, and professors of humanities from different university. It aims to honor exemplary work in film and television.

1 Comment on Stars of ‘The Good Son’ Named Best Acting Ensemble at the 16th Gawad Tanglaw Awards

  1. Unknown // May 6, 2018 at 2:36 pm //

    Wow Angel Locsin daming awards iba ka talaga

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.