ABS-CBN is Big Winner at the 38th CMMA and the 6th EdukCircle Awards

ABS-CBN, the leading media and entertainment company in the Philippines recently bagged a total of 30 awards at the 38th Catholic Mass Media Awards (CMMA) and the 6th EdukCircle Awards.

The Kapamilya network took home eleven CMMA’s including major wins in the fields of TV and radio. “Failon Ngayon sa DZMM” won Best News Commentary for radio, while its television counterpart on ABS-CBN won Best Public Service Program. The Atom Araullo led special on climate change, “Warmer,” on ANC, the ABS-CBN News Channel, also won Best TV Special, while Anthony Taberna’s “Tapatan Ni Tunying” received a special citation for Best News Magazine.


On the entertainment side, two of the network’s shows shared the Best Drama Series award – “Be My Lady” and “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano,” while “Dance Kids” was chosen as Best Entertainment Program. The music video for the song “Thank You For The Love,” which featured top Kapamilya love teams, took home the Best Music Video award, as the Kapamilya station ID for 2015 featuring the same song won Best Station ID. The Filipino Channel’s 2015 Christmas station ID titled “Galing ng Filipino” was also nominated in the same category.


Completing the Kapamilya winners at the CMMAs, which was established in 1978 to stress the role and responsibility of media and its practitioners in influencing society, are My Only Radio (MOR) 101.9, which won Best Branded Radio Ad for their “MOR Graduation Day” and ABS-CBN Davao’s “Mag TV Na,” which got a special citation for Adult Educational/Cultural Program.

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN also dominated at the EduKCircle Awards, winning in 19 of the 29 categories. Vice Ganda, Daniel Padilla, and Coco Martin brought home three awards each, with Coco Martin even being inducted into the Hall of Fame for Drama. Other Hall of Fame inductees include Anne Curtis for Advertising, “Salamat Dok’s” Bernadette Sembrano and Alvin Elchico for Health Shows, and Carmina Villaroel-Legaspi and her family for Advertising.


Also big winners were Kathryn Bernardo and Sarah Geronimo, who won two awards each. The two were named Most Influential Celebrity Endorsers of the Year, alongside other popular Kapamilya stars like Liza Soberano, Angel Locsin, Enrique Gil, Daniel Padilla, James Reid and Nadine Lustre. Kathryn was also Most Outstanding Female Artist of the Year while Sarah was included in the Most Influential Concert Performers of the Year awardees with Darren Espanto and Daniel Padilla. Reid and Lustre, who are collectively known as JaDine, also won Love Team of the Year.


Receiving acting awards were Bea Alonzo (Most Influential Actress of the Year), Xian Lim (Drama Actor of the Year) and Kim Chiu (Drama Actress of the Year), who shared her award with fellow Kapamilya actress, Bela Padilla. Cited for their hosting skills were Boy Abunda (Best Talk Show Host), Piolo Pascual (Best male Variety Show Host), Toni Gonzaga (Best Female Variety Show Host), Luis Manzano (Best Game Show Host), and Robi Domingo (Best Talent Show Host).

For ABS-CBN Integrated News and Current Affairs, Karen Davila was named Best Female News Anchor, while Ted Failon was the Best Investigative Journalist of the Year at the EdukCircle, which has been awarding individuals who have made significant contributions to the showbiz and media industry since 2011.

1 Comment on ABS-CBN is Big Winner at the 38th CMMA and the 6th EdukCircle Awards

  1. Anonymous // October 19, 2016 at 9:55 pm //

    Well deserve winners. Congratulations!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.