‘Himig Handog P-Pop Love Songs 2013’ the Album Hits Record Bars this January

Star Recording Inc., the music arm of ABS-CBN has revived the Himig Handog tradition with P-Pop 2013. 12 cutting edge original Filipino compositions shall vie for the coveted title as this year’s Himig Handog P-Pop 2013 Grand Winner. The songs will be rendered by 12 of our finest local recording artists.

Himig Handog P-Pop 2013 finalists and interpreters

This year’s Pinoy P-Pop finalists are all love songs interpreted in different genres. A team of young composers, Ma. Fe Mechenette, G. Tianga, Melvin Muervana and Joel Jabat Jr., presented the alternative “Alaala” to be rendered by Yeng Constantino, while film director Joven Tan made it to the finals, this time in the field of song writing with “Anong Nangyari Sa Ating Dalawa” to be interpreted by Aiza Seguerra. Marian Aunor, from the Villamayor clan presented a distinct musical piece which she will also interpret through “If You Ever Change Your Mind”. Another young composer who will render his own piece entitled “Tamang Panahon” in the grand finals is 18 year old Win Andrada. Music veteran Soc Villanueva wrote “Hanggang Wakas” which talks about never ending love even in the midst of a terminal disease to be interpreted by Juris Fernandez.

This roster of love songs boasts of diversity with the inclusion of novelty pop hit potential “Kahit Na” by Julius James de Belen which will be rendered by Toni Gonzaga, a pop country Jungee Marcelo piece entitled “Nasa Iyo Na Ang Lahat” will be interpreted by pop heartthrob Daniel Padilla, and the classic mellow love song called “One Day” by Agatha Morallos from Baguio City, with a more low key rendition by Angeline Quinto.

Bugoy Drilon shall render a mellow pop love song entitled “Pwede Bang Ako Na Lang Ulit” from Jeffrey Cifra, Jovit Baldivino will sing his heart out once again with Arman Alferez’ “Sana’y Magbalik”. X-Factor grand champion KZ Tandingan will interpret Domingo Cubelo’s “Scared to Death” and Jude Gitamondoc’s composition about unrequited love entitled “This Song’s For You” will be rendered by Erik Santos.

“We are very excited on how these songs will be interpreted. The songs are carefully scrutinized according to the lyrics, melody and structure,” said Star Records Head Roxy Liquigan. “I am certain that this will be a tough job for the judges and we will be most happy whichever will be selected as the grand winner.”

Star Records will be releasing the album in CD and digital format. The digital album will be available for download on on January 8 while on iTunes and Amazon on January 11. Copies of the physical CD may be purchased from all Odyssey, Astroplus and SM Music Stores Nationwide beginning January 17.

The grand musical spectacle will be televised live on ABS-CBN from the SM MOA Arena on February 24.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.