Rico Blanco, Yeng Constantino & Gloc 9 Win Top Honors at the Tambayan OPM Awards

Rico Blanco, Yeng Constantino, and Gloc 9 bagged the major awards at the Tambayan OPM Awards, where the most popular names in the music industry rocked the jam-packed SM City NorthEDSA’s SkyDome Saturday night before hundreds of screaming fans.

Rico Blanco bagged the “Album of the Year” award for his first solo album “Your Universe” as well as the Male Artist of the Year award.

Rapper Gloc 9 also clinched the night’s other top plum “Song of the Year” for his smash hit single “Upuan,” a song that indirectly talks about corruption in the country.

Sugarfree bested other bands like 6CycleMind, Spongecola, Hale, Itchyworms, and Rocksteddy, and won the Band of the Year award while Pinoy Dream Academy Grand Star Dreamer Yeng Constantino won the tough match for the Female Artist of the Year where she competed against international singing sensation Charice Pempengco and pop star princess Sarah Geronimo.

The throttle and stomping mood at the Tambayan OPM Awards was replaced by a solemn feel when the awards-giving body organized by FM station Tambayan 101.9 paid tribute to the late master rapper Francis M. with the Tambayani Award, which was received by Stickfiggas.

The other winners for the night include Vhong Navarro who won Best Novelty Song of the Year for his single “Pata-Pata-Pon.” Close-Up which won over other brands for the Kantamercial of the Year award.

Piolo Pascual, Jericho Rosales, Toni Gonzaga, Calla Lily, 6CycleMind, Paraluman, Rocksteddy, Imago, Sam Concepcion, Kyla, Faith Cuneta, OJ Mariano, Laarni Lozada, Ronnie Liang, Miguel Mendoza, Liezl Garcia, Cris Pastor, Michael Josh Santana and the Tambayan 101.9 DJs performed various numbers that pumped up the crowd.

Winners for the Tambayan OPM Awards were chosen based on results of text and online voting as well as scores from the program committee and panel of judges composed of Tambayan 101.9 Station Manager Eli Bruce Capuyan, Pinoy Dream Academy mentor Monette Silvestre, and former ABS-CBN President Freddie M. Garcia aka FMG.

The awards night was hosted by Francine Prieto and Chokoleit with the Tambayan 101.9 DJ’s as presenters.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.