37th Gawad Urian Airs on Cinema One

The grand night to honor and celebrate excellence in Philippine cinema is finally here, as Cinema One sets the stage for the 37th Gawad Urian. The awards show of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino will be aired live on Tuesday (June 17) on the country’s number one cable channel at 8pm.


This year’s awarding ceremony will be hosted by three of the country’s best local talents in entertainment, namely Piolo Pascual, Bianca Gonzales, and Ai-Ai Delas Alas. They will be joined by MPP member Butch Francisco.

The Gawad Urian is considered the most prestigious film award-giving body in the country, which has shaped cinematic history over the years. This annual ceremony is held in light of a partnership formed between the oldest and most respected film awards institution in the country, the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, the Film Development Council of the Philippines, and Cinema One, the Philippines’ number one cable channel.

It can be expected of the awards ceremony that the biggest names in Philippine cinema and stars of all generations will be in attendance to gather in celebration of local cinema at Dolphy Theater Studio 1 of the Main Building of ABS-CBN this year to witness the awards night, where tight competition is highly expected.

For this year’s awards, the nominations are dominated by two films that have ten nominations each–Lav Diaz’s “Norte, Hangganan ng Kasaysayan” ang Armando Bing Lao’s “Dukit”. These are followed by “On the Job” and “Porno,” which have nine nominations each. “Transit” comes into the competition with eight nominations, while “Riddles of my Homecoming” and “Ekstra” are tied with six nominations each. Also part of those raking in a number of nominations are “Badil” and “Ang Kuwento ni Mabuti” that have four nominations each.

Also drawing in loads of anticipation this year is the competition between two nominees, who are no less than long-time rivals Nora Aunor and Vilma Santos, both in the running for their respective movies, “Ang Kuwento ni Mabuti” and “Ekstra”. However, the two are pitted against other actresses who delivered stellar performances such as Cherie Gil (Sonata), Eugene Domingo (Instant Mommy), Angeli Bayani (Norte), Rustica Carpio (Ano ang Kulay ng mga Nakalimutang Pangarap), Agot Isidro (Mga Anino ng Kapaon), Vivian Velez (Bendor), Lorna Tolentino (Burgos), and Teri Malvar (Huling Chacha ni Anita). Joel Torre, an assassin in OTJ, competes with Mark Gil (A Philippino Story), Sid Lucero (Norte), Mimi Juareza (Quick Change), Alex Medina (Babagwa), Ping Medina (Transit) and Jhong Hilario (Badil) in the best actor race of the Urian. Without a doubt, this will be one of the closest races in the history of the Gawad Urian.

The night is to be a crossover of different art forms as well, as some of the local music industry’s best acts are set to perform in the name of the fast-moving local film scene. Among those who will be performing are no less than the Tres Marias, Cooky Chua, Bayang Barrios, and Lolita Carbon. Stars from the hit show The Voice of the Philippines Janis, Morisette, Klarisse, and Radha will also be taking the stage.

The 37th Gawad Urian will be presented by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, Cinema One, and the Film Development Council of the Philippines. Stay tuned for the awards night, happening on June 17 and airing live on Cinema One (SkyCable channel 56) at 8:00pm. Encores of the awards show program will be on June 21 AT 7:00PM, June 26 at 7:00pm, and June 29 at 2:00pm. For updates, visit Cinema One’s official Facebook page (

2 Comments on 37th Gawad Urian Airs on Cinema One

  1. ngayon pa lang i want to congratulate the whole cast of EKSTRA for the job well done especially Gov Vi

  2. ronaldubai // June 13, 2014 at 3:24 pm //

    Goodluck Ate Vi! Hope your bravura performance for Ekstra will give you your 9th Urian trophy!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.