ABS-CBN Dominates Anak TV Awards, Sarah Geronimo and Bernadette Sembrano Elevated to Hall of Fame

ABS-CBN once again dominated the Anak TV Awards for its personalities and programs that are certified child-friendly as voted by parents, teachers, non-government organizations, and other sectors of society.


Kapamilya personalities ruled the roster of male and female Makabata stars based on the Boto Ko ‘To survey that asked adult respondents to vote for local TV personalities they found most admirable.

Leading the winners with Hall of Fame awards were popstar Sarah Geronimo and broadcast journalist Bernadette Sembrano who consistently topped the survey in the past eight years. The two join ABS-CBN president and CEO Charo Santos, Angel Locsin, Jodi Sta. Maria, Judy Ann Santos, Karen Davila, Kathryn Bernardo and Kim Chiu in the top ten list of female Makabata stars.

Anthony Taberna, Coco Martin, Daniel Padilla, Kim Atienza, Noli de Castro, Richard Yap, and Ted Failon were included in the roster of male Makabata stars who are deemed as the most wholesome and worth emulating by the youth today.

ABS-CBN programs “TV Patrol,” “Be Careful With My Heart,” “Matanglawin,” “Ina, Kapatid, Anak,” “Maalaala Mo Kaya,” “Rated K,” “Juan dela Cruz,” and “It’s Showtime,” on the other hand, were named as the country’s Most Well-Liked TV Programs for 2013.

Meanwhile, the Anak TV Seal, which is a seal of good housekeeping on Philippine television, was awarded to programs deemed “wholesome” and “generally child-safe” by the jurors. Among the Kapamilya programs recognized this year are “Animazing Tales,” “Be Careful With My Heart,” “I Got It,” “Matanglawin,” “Ni Hao Kailan,” “Salamat Dok,” “Wansapanataym,” and “Why Not.”

The network’s regional programs “Agri Tayo Dito,” “Bayanijuan,” “Bida Kapampangan,” “MagTV na Atin To (Baguio),” “MagTV na Ato Ni (CDO),” MagTV na (Cebu),” MagTV na (Oragon),” “MagTV na Sadya Ta (Davao),” and “Salandigan” also received the coveted seals.

Overall, ABS-CBN took home a total of 41 accolades from Anak TV Awards including 17 Anak TV seals this year.

Judy Ann Anak TV

The Anak TV Awards is an annual national recognition given by the Southeast Asian Foundation for Children and Television honoring child-sensitive programs and personalities in the Philippines. This year’s awarding ceremony was held at the Soka Gakkai Building in Timog, Quezon City.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.