ABS-CBN Wins Most Development-Oriented TV in 2012 Gandingan Awards

ABS-CBN opens the year with a bang by bagging the top awards and being the most-awarded TV network in the in this year’s “Gandingan: The UPLB Isko’t Iska’s Broadcast Choice Awards,” where it won a total of 22 awards including the coveted Most Development-Oriented TV award and the Best FM station for Tambayan 101.9.

Be it on television or radio, ABS-CBN news programs and personalities remain to be the most trusted by the students of UPLB by winning more awards than rival network GMA.

ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs’ shows and personalities outnumbered GMA by bagging a total of nine awards as compared to GMA News and Public Affairs’ six awards.

“Umagang Kay Ganda” was hailed as Best Morning Show and “Patrol ng Pilipino (Kanino ang Spratly’s?)” for Best Documentary Program.

Karen Davila, Julius Babao, and Ces Orena-Drilon, on the other hand, won as Best News Anchors for “Bandila,” “Umagang Kay Ganda anchors” for Best Morning Show hosts, Karen Davila for Best Documentarist, and Bernadette Sembrano and Alvin Elchico for Best Public Service Program Host for “Salamat Dok.”

ABS-CBN’s flagship primetime newscast “TV Patrol,” on the other hand, was elevated to the Hall of Fame for Best News Program.

“Matanglawin” was given the special award for Best Educational Program while its anchor Kim Atienza was given two distinct special awards for his advocacies in education and nature— the Gandingan ng Edukasyon and Gandingan ng Kalikasan.

“The Bottomline with Boy Abunda” also won in the Best Development-Oriented Talk Show category, while its host Boy Abunda bagged the Best Development-Oriented Talk Show Host award.

ABS-CBN also won the Gandingan ng Pinilakang-Tabing special award.

Meanwhile, Studio 23’s lifestyle magazine show “Us Girls” received a special citation for Best Women-Oriented Program with hosts Angel Aquino, Chesca Garcia-Kramer, and Iya Villania also receiving a special citation for Best Women-Oriented Program Host. ABS-CBN Regional Network Group’s “Mag-TV na Amiga: Outstanding Farmers” bagged its Gandingan for Best Livelihood-Oriented Program.

When it comes to radio, ABS-CBN’s AM station DZMM and FM station Tambayan 101.9 collectively won five awards.

Anchor Ted Failon was named Best AM Announcer while DZMM host Carl Balita was bestowed with the Gandingan ng Kabuhayan Special Award. “Dos Por Dos,” on the other hand, bagged the Most Development-Oriented AM Program.

Aside from winning Best FM Station, Tambayan 101.9’s DJ Jasmin won as Best Disc Jock and her show “Dear Jasmin” as the Most Development-Oriented FM Program.

Overall, ABS-CBN received 14 awards compared to GMA with six awards. DZMM 630 took home three awards vs DZBB’s one award. Tambayan 101.9 brought home three Gandingan award as compared to Barangay LS’ with no award won.

ABS-CBN subsidiary Studio 23 also contributed to the Kapamilya Network’s success by bagging two awards.

The Gandingan Awards is the annual awards program of the UP Community Broadcasters’ Society in the University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB). Over a thousand students vote for programs and personalities that strive to promote development-oriented issues.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.