Vanessa Hudgens, Ramiele Malubay Nominated in Asian Excellence Awards 2008

aea.jpgVanessa Hudgens of High School Musical and Ramiele Malubay of American Idol are two of a number of Filipino-Americans who are nominated in this year's Asian Excellence Awards. The Asian Excellence Awards is an annual celebration of the outstanding achievements of Asians and Asian Americans in film, television, music, and the performing arts. The complete list of nominees are:


Yunjin Kim – Lost
Lucy Liu – Cashmere Mafia
Parminder Nagra – ER
Sandra Oh – Grey’s Anatomy
Lindsay Price – Lipstick Jungle
Navi Rawat – Numb3rs

Naveen Andrews – Lost
Daniel Dae Kim – Lost
Masi Oka – Heroes
Sendhil Ramamurthy – Heroes
B.D. Wong – Law & Order: SVU

Moon Bloodgood – Journeyman
Michaela Conlin – Bones
Janina Gavankar – The L Word
Mindy Kaling – The Office
Michelle Krusiec – Dirty Sexy Money
Sonja Sohn – The Wire

James Kyson Lee – Heroes
Rex Lee – Entourage
Will Yun Lee – Bionic Woman
Ken Leung – Lost
Kal Penn – House M.D.
James Saito – Eli Stone

Devon Aoki – War
Joan Chen – Lust, Caution
Vanessa Hudgens – High School Musical 2
Sharon Leal – This Christmas
Maggie Q – Balls of Fury
Tang Wei – Lust, Caution

Naveen Andrews – The Brave One
Jackie Chan – Rush Hour 3
Chow Yun-Fat – Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End
Tony Leung – Lust, Caution
Jet Li – War
Lee-Hom Wang – Lust, Caution

Finishing the Game – Dir Justin Lin
Lust, Caution – Dir Ang Lee
Rush Hour 3 – Dir Brett Ratner
War – Dir Philip G. Atwell

People’s Choice:

Julie Chen – Big Brother
Mark Dacascos – Iron Chef America: The Series
Padma Lakshmi – Top Chef
Tila “Tequila” Nguyen – A Shot at Love with Tila Tequila
Vern Yip – Deserving Design
Carrie Ann Inaba – Dance War: Bruno vs. Carrie Ann
Kimora Lee Simmons – Kimora: Life in the Fab Lane
Cheryl Burke – Dancing with the Stars

Ronald & Christina – The Amazing Race
Yau-Man Chan – Survivor: Fans vs. Favorites
Victorya Hong – Project Runway
JabbaWockeeZ – Randy Jackson Presents America’s Best Dance Crew
Kaba Modern – Randy Jackson Presents America’s Best Dance Crew MTV
Ramiele Malubay – American Idol
Nicole Niestemski – Your Mama Don’t Dance
Jonathan Silva – Your Mama Don’t Dance
Hung Hyunh – Top Chef

The Asian Excellence Awards is an annual celebration of the outstanding achievements of Asians and Asian Americans in film, television, music, and the performing arts. This year’s show, hosted by Carrie Ann Inaba and Bobby Lee, will reach a broad national televised audience with the premiere on E! Entertainment on May 1 at 6 p.m. ET/PT. The show will also be available on Comcast On Demand throughout the month of May in honor of Asian Pacific American Heritage Month.

The Asian Excellence Awards is the only nationally televised event celebrating significant Asian and Asian American achievements in entertainment, the arts and other disciplines that have had a profound impact on American culture. The show will be taped live on April 23 at UCLA’s Royce Hall. Welly, the creator and one of the executive producers of the Asian Excellence Awards, is an actor, singer, producer and founder of the Asian theatrical group Second Generation, which produced the earlier version of the “Asian Excellence Awards” known as “The Concert of Excellence.”

Past honorees and presenters have included Chow Yun-Fat, Lucy Liu, Quentin Tarantino, Daniel Dae Kim, Masi Oka, Rex Lee, Margaret Cho, Rob Schneider, Kelly Hu, Parminder Nagra, Yunjin Kim, Lisa Ling, Bobby Lee, Carrie Ann Inaba, Grace Park, Maggie Q, Vivica A. Fox, Jason Scott Lee, Sharon Leal, B.D. Wong and many more.

You can vote for Ramiele Malubay, Mark Dacascos, Cheryl Burke and/or Jonathan Silva in the People’s Choice category here.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.