12 Best Singers Battle for ‘Tawag ng Tanghalan’ Grand Champion Title

After a year of scouring the whole archipelago and the world, “Tawag ng Tanghalan” places its 12 best singers with different styles and strengths on their final journey to become the newest grand champion in the competition’s highly anticipated grand finals on “It’s Showtime.”

Another week-long battle awaits the grand finalists – one of them from Metro Manila, two from Luzon, three from Visayas, four from Mindanao, and two global contenders – who first have to get one of the six slots in Saturday’s (June 2) final showdown live at the Aliw Theater.

Six finalists kicked off the competition on Monday (May 28) namely Alfred Relatado of Davao Occidental, Remy Luntayao of Negros Occidental, Sofronio Vasquez of Misamis Occidental, Makoto Inoue of Japan, Reggie Tortugo of Ormoc, Leyte, and Arabelle Dela Cruz of Calamba, Laguna.

With the weight of their life stories and dreams on their shoulders, continuing their bid to become the grand champion on Tuesday (May 29) are Jovany Satera of North Cotabato, Anton Antenorcruz of Parañaque, Tuko Delos Reyes of Aurora, Steven Paysu of California, USA, Janine Berdin of Cebu, and Ato Arman of Bukidnon.

The two grand finalists who will get the highest combined average scores from the judges’ scores and text and online votes will advance to Saturday’s final showdown, while the two finalists with the lowest average scores will have to leave the race.

The remaining eight grand finalists will resume their bid on Wednesday and Thursday (May 30 and 31). Again, the two highest average scorers will join Saturday’s showdown, and the two lowest scorers will be sent home.

The four remaining contenders will perform again in a do-or-die match on Friday (June 1). Two of them will move on to the Saturday match, while the journey of the other two will come to an end.

On Saturday, the top six grand finalists will clash in the first round to woo the judges and the madlang people.

In the end, the final three contenders with the highest average scores will battle it out to become the grand champion.

The newest “Tawag ng Tanghalan” grand champion will win an ultimate vacation package from 2GO, a musical gadgets package from JB Music, a livelihood package from Siomai house, premium television sets from HKTV, management contracts, a brand new house and lot from Camella, P2 million, and a trophy created by renowned Filipino visual artist Toym Imao.

“Tawag ng Tanghalan” is the biggest singing competition with global eliminations, enlisting contenders from Asia, the Middle East, Oceania, North America, and Europe.

Launched in 1953, the legendary singing contest was loved by Filipinos across different generations and produced some of the most respected icons in the music industry. It returned to television in 2016, opening its stage to the most talented Filipino singers and has since become a daily TV viewing habit watched by millions on TV and online.

Meanwhile, netizens may watch the grand finals live on

Don’t miss the winning moment of the “Tawag ng Tanghalan” grand champion on “It’s Showtime” this Saturday (June 2) on ABS-CBN and ABS-CBN HD (Sky Cable ch 167).

14 Comments on 12 Best Singers Battle for ‘Tawag ng Tanghalan’ Grand Champion Title

  1. Anonymous // June 2, 2018 at 1:25 pm //

    Anton and Arabelle

  2. Johnvie // May 31, 2018 at 10:16 pm //

    Janine and ato for the win

  3. Sally Finch // May 31, 2018 at 4:03 am //

    Ato Arman for the win.

  4. Anonymous // May 31, 2018 at 1:21 am //

    Janine for the win!

  5. Janine or Ato for the win

  6. elizabeth // May 30, 2018 at 7:19 pm //

    Janine for d win!

  7. Lolita ramos // May 30, 2018 at 6:01 pm //


  8. Reggie & Anton !

  9. Anton for the win!

  10. Amajosh // May 30, 2018 at 11:54 am //

    Hoping Reggie Tortugo will win

  11. The ligal wife of sofronio // May 30, 2018 at 11:07 am //


  12. Anonymous // May 30, 2018 at 9:46 am //


  13. Janine & Arabelle

  14. reggie FTW // May 30, 2018 at 7:16 am //

    Betting for Reggie tortugo

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.