33rd Gawad Urian – 2010 Nominees Revealed

The Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP) released their list of nominees in the running for the 33rd Gawad Urian which is happening on April 29, 2010 at the UP Cine Adarna.

It’s interesting to note that no movie from mainstream producers made it to the Best Film category. Films such as “In My Life” by Star Cinema, “Mano Po 6: A Mothers Love” by Regal and “I Love You, Goodbye” by Star Cinema are not running for the big prize. Indie films occupied the 10 slots including the Cinemalaya entries “Last Supper No. 3” and “Ang Panggagahasa kay Fe” and two from Cannes-winning director Brillante Mendoza namely “Kinatay” and “Lola.”

Competing in the Best Actor category are John Lloyd Cruz for In My Life, Coco Martin for Kinatay and 8 others. Vilma Santos and Eugene Domingo, from the films In My Life and Kimmy Dora respectively, lead the 10 nominees for Best Actress.

Here is the complete list of nominees for 2010 Gawad Urian:

Best Film

The Arrival
Bakal Boys
Hospital Boat
Last Supper No. 3
Ang Panggagahasa kay Fe.

Best Director

John Steffan Ballesteros (Colorum)
Pepe Diokno (Engkwentro)
Ralston Jover (Bakal Boys)
Erik Matti (The Arrival)
Arnel Mardoquio (Hospital Boat)
Brillante Mendoza (Kinatay)
Brillante Mendoza (Lola)
Raymond Red (Himpapawid)
GB Sampedro (Astig)
Veronica Velasco (Last Supper No. 3)
Alvin Yapan (Ang Panggagahasa kay Fe)

Best Actor

Raul Arellano (Himpapawid)
Allen Dizon (Dukot)
Dwight Gaston (The Arrival)
John Lloyd Cruz (In My Life)
Coco Martin (Kinatay)
Joey Paras (Last Supper)
Felix Roco (Engkwentro)
Alfred Vargas (Colorum)
Lou Veloso (Colorum)
Jacky Woo (Walang Hanggang Paalam)

Best Actress

Irma Adlawan (Ang Panggagahasa kay Fe)
Janice de Belen (Last Viewing)
Iza Calzado (Dukot)
Rustica Carpio (Lola)
Eugene Domingo (Kimmy/Dora)
Anita Linda (Lola)
Che Ramos (Mangatyanan)
Rosanna Roces (Wanted Border)
Vilma Santos (In My Life)
Tessie Tomas (Sanglaan)

Best Supporting Actor

John Arcilla (Himpapawid)
Dennis Ascalon (The Arrival)
Soliman Cruz (Himpapawid)
Milton Dionson (The Arrival)
Jose Ma. Javellana (Colorum)
John Regala (Kinatay)
Jake Roxas (Walang Hanggang Paalam)
Ariel Ureta (Kimmy/Dora)

Best Supporting Actress

Gina Alajar (Dukot)
Glaiza de Castro (Astig)
Jea Lyka Cinco (Hospital Boat)
Maria Isabel Lopez (Kinatay)
Gina Pareño (Baseco Bakal Boys)
Marissa Sue Prado (Himpapawid)
Miriam Quiambao (Kimmy/Dora)
Dimples Romana (In My Life)

Best Screenplay

Linda Casimiro (Lola)
Pepe Diokno (Engkwentro)
Christopher Gozum (Anacbanua)
Armando Lao (Biyaheng Lupa)
Armando Lao (Kinatay)
Erik Matti (The Arrival)
Raymond Red (Himpapawid)
Veronica Velasco and Jinky Laurel (Last Supper No. 3)
Alvin Yapan (Ang Panggagahasa kay Fe)

Best Sound

Ditoy Aguila (Himpapawid)
Mark Locsin (Bakal Boys)
Albert Michael Idioma (Kinatay)
Albert Michael Idioma and Addiss Tabong (Lola)
Mark Laccay (Engkwentro)
Andrew Millalos and Mike Idioma, (Last Supper No. 3)

Best Music

Teresa Barrazo (Kinatay)
Dan Gil (Last Supper No. 3)
Lutgardo Labad (Independencia)
Gauss Obenza (Hospital Boat)
Francisbrew Reyes (Dinig Sana Kita)
Francis de Veyra (The Arrival)

Best Editing

John Steffan Ballesteros (Colorum)
Jay Halili (Biyaheng Lupa)
Raymond Red, Dave Hukom and Jay Halili (Himpapawid)
Kats Serraon (Kinatay)
Kats Serraon (Lola)
Orlean Tan, Ralph Crisostomo and Miko Araneta (Engkwentro)
Borgy Torre and Ronald Banawa (The Arrival)
Veronica Velasco and Pablo Biglang-awa Jr. (Last Supper No. 3).

Best Production Design

Bryan Bajado (Hospital Boat)
Deans Habal (Bakal Boys)
Brillante Mendoza (Kinatay)
Brillante Mendoza (Lola)
Danny Red (Himpapawid)
Digo Ricio (Independencia)
Mic Tatad and Giselle Andres (Last Supper No. 3)

Best Cinematography

Dax Canedo (Hospital Boat)
Ruben Dela Cruz (Bakal Boys)
Neil Daza (Engkwentro)
Odyssey Flores (Kinatay)
Odyssey Flores (Lola)
Sol Garcia (Ang Panggagahasa kay Fe)
Joni Guttierez (Anacbanua)
Jeanne Lapoirie (Independencia)
Raymond Red (Himpapawid)

Natatanging Gawad Urian

Armida Siguion-Reyna

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.