‘Ded Na Si Lolo’ is RP’s Entry to 2010 Oscars

The indie film "Ded Na Si Lolo" was chosen by the Film Academy of the Philippines to be the country's entry to the 82nd Oscar Awards in 2010.

The dramedy movie is produced by APT Entertainment and was directed by Soxie Topacio. Starring in the movie are BJ Forbes, Elizabeth Oropesa, Gina Alajar, Roderick Paulate, Manilyn Reynes, Rainier Castillo, and Dick Israel.

Ded Na Si Lolo received a grade of “A” when it was shown in limited theaters last May.

It bested 11 other films contending for the right to represent the Philippines in the 2010 Oscars. Other films which were considered were:

Pitik Bulag (ALV Entertainment)
The Last Viewing (Davis Entertainment)
Kamoteng Kahoy (APT Entertainment)
Concerto (Solito Arts Productions and Seiko Films)
Baler (Viva Films)
Jay (Pasion para Pelikula Productions)
Bente (APT Enterainment)
100 (Martinez-Rivera Films)

Completing the list of 12 are Lola (Centerstage productions); Manila (MJM Productions and Bicycle Pictures); and Adela (Bicycle Pictures).

The FAP Oscar Committee is composed of the ff:

Eddie Romero – National Artist for Film
Robert Arevalo – Veteran actor and director
Jose Carreon – Directors’ Guild of the Philippines
Johnny Delgado – Actors Workshop Foundation
William Mayo – Philippine Motion Picture Directors Association
Manny Morfe – Production Designers Guild of the Philippines
Jess Navarro – United Film Editors’ Guild of the Philippines
Elwood Perez – PMPDA

[poll id=”69″]

[poll id=”70″]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.