Journos Reap awards from CMFR, RCM, and SOPA

ABS-CBN broadcast journalists Christian Esguerra, Jorge Cariño, and the ABS-CBN News Digital team received top honors this year from different international and national reputable award-giving bodies for their exceptional works in journalism.

Esguerra received the 2019 award of distinction from media watchdog Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility (CMFR) last August for his “untiring efforts to interpret the meaning of events and explain the issues in the news that confront Filipinos in these difficult times.”

An anchor of “Early Edition” and special coverages on the ABS-CBN News Channel (ANC), Esguerra also reports for other ABS-CBN newscasts and produces “explainers” on relevant issues and topics via the ABS-CBN News digital project “NXT.” He received his award at the conclusion of the Jaime V. Ongpin (JVO) Journalism Seminar, where he also served as a panelist.

In June, veteran reporter and “Umagang Kay Ganda” anchor Jorge Cariño was also presented with Television Male Reporter of the Year award by Rotary Club of Manila (RCM) in their annual Journalism Awards that honors outstanding contributions of individuals in the tri-media: print, television and radio to encourage the proper development of Philippine Journalism.

Cariño, who started with ABS-CBN as a Radyo Patrol reporter of DZMM, is known for his powerful storytelling as he reports on the biggest issues and events in the nation.

Earlier this year, two stories produced and published by ABS-CBN News Digital were awarded at the Society of Publishers in Asia (SOPA) 2019 Awards for Editorial Excellence in Hong Kong last May, extending ABS-CBN News’ wining streak in SOPA to three years.

The multimedia special report written by Patrick Quintos on the Marawi siege, “Stories From Under the Rubble: Inside the Battle of Marawi,” was given Honorable Mention in Journalistic Innovation, while the 2-part multimedia special report, “The Boracay Project,” written by Katrina Domingo, took home another Honorable Mention in Reporting on the Environment.

The reports, which were published on the ABS-CBN News website (, were produced by the multimedia team headed by award-winning photojournalist Fernando Sepe Jr. with graphic artist Pamela Ramos, photo editor Gigie Cruz, and web developer Regie Francisco.

Sepe provided photographs for both stories while photos and videos by Jonathan Cellona, Val Cuenca, and Gian Carlo Roman were also featured in the Marawi project. Serving as editors for the stories are Dominic Menor, Jojo Malig, and Isagani de Castro Jr. for the Marawi report, while Menor and De Castro edited the Boracay report.

Catch more stories from ABS-CBN’s award-winning journalists on ABS-CBN News’ multimedia platforms on TV via ABS-CBN, ANC, DZMM Radyo Patrol 630, and DZMM TeleRadyo, and online via,, and official ABS-CBN News accounts on Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube, or through the ABS-CBN News App.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: