UAAP Cheerdance Competition 2018 Airs Live on S+A

Can lightning strike twice for the Adamson University Pep Squad? The 2017 cheerdance champion is on a hunt for back-to-back titles when the fires of school spirit blazes anew at the 2018 UAAP Cheerdance Competition this Saturday (November 17) at the Mall of Asia Arena.

ABS-CBN Sports anchor Nikko Ramos and “Upfront” host Janeena Chan will be hosting the country’s most-anticipated cheerdance contest, which will air LIVE on S+A and S+A HD at 2 pm with livestreaming on Angelique Manto will also be there to interview the squads after their routines.

The Falcons’ Pep Squad banked on a near-flawless execution of their routine in the 2017 edition to beat out multiple cheerdance champion squads from NU, FEU, and a comebacking UP. Joining them for a podium finish were the UST Salinggawi Dance Troupe and the UE Pep Squad, who finished second and third respectively. Rounding out the field are the De La Salle Animo Squad and the Ateneo de Manila Blue Babble Battalion.

Up for grabs this year are special awards like the “Yamaha Toss Winner” for the client’s choice Best Toss in the competition and “UAAP Group Stunts Champion” for the squad with the best group stunt performance.

The second-runner up of the UAAP Cheerdance Competition will get Php 20,000 and medals from the UAAP, and Php 20,000 from Yamaha; the first-runner up will get Php 30,000 and medals from the UAAP, and Php 25,000; and the champion will get Php 50,000 along with medals from the UAAP, and Php 30,000 from Yamaha.

The squads’ performances will be scored based on the quality and difficulty of their dance, tumbling, stunts, pyramids, tosses, stunts, and number of errors by an esteemed panel of judges led by head judge Paula Nunag, the National Director of the National Cheerleading Championship and National Dance Championship. She is joined by ICU Accredited Dance Coach and Dance Judge Rina Ni Tu-Chia, Douglas Nierras Powerdance founder Douglas Nierras, of HOTLEGS Dance Company artistic director Nancy Crowe, Whiplash Dance Company Choreographer and Senior Member Wilson Ong, National Cheerleading Championship Coach Bianca Valencia, ICU Accredited Cheer Judge Celine Tanjuatco, ICU Accredited Cheer Judge and Coach Lim Chin Hau, and ICU Accredited Cheer Judge Terumi Uekusa, National Cheerleading Championship Coach Elaine Lapuz Tan. While ICU Accredited Cheer Judge Bernard Dan Puatu, ICU Accredited Cheer Judge and Coach Chester Carlos, and NCC Judge and Coach Micael Paulo Bustamante will judge the Group Stunts competition.

Don’t miss the 2018 UAAP Cheerdance Competition this Saturday (November 17) at 2 pm, LIVE on S+A and S+A HD and streamed live on as the Adamson Pep Squad try to add another cheerdance trophy to their case against the seven other schools in the league.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.