Tres Kantos Named First Grand Celebriteam of ‘We Love OPM’

Tres Kantos, the trio of Jovit Baldivino, Bugoy Drilon, and Dominador Aviola, was proclaimed the first-ever grand CelebriTeam during “We Love OPM’s” Grand Celebrity Sing-Offs Sunday night (July 17) at Newport Performing Arts Theater.

Tres Kantos

The team mentored by Erik Santos garnered 80.45% of the combined scores obtained from public votes and the score given by guest judge and music icon Ryan Cayabyab.

The group, who performed Cayabyab’s “Nais Ko,” took home P2 million, half of which will be given to their chosen charity, Casa San Miguel, which promotes music and arts for less fortunate children.

Tres Kantos beat Oh My Girls, composed of Ylona Garcia, Krissha Viaje, and Alexa Ilacad – mentored by Yeng Constantino – who got 58.27% of the combined scores. Meanwhile, O Diva, composed of Emmanuelle Vera, Liezel Garcia and Klarisse de Guzman and mentored by KZ Tandingan, received 57.78%.

“I am so happy, nervous, excited, happy. Mixed emotions,” said Bugoy in an interview after the show.

Jovit, who won the first season of “Pilipinas Got Talent,” said, “We really can’t explain how we feel. This is the second time I was named grand champion and I felt what’s it like to compete again.”

“I’m really thankful for everyone behind this program. Why I am here, I owe it to all of them,” said Dominador or Daddy D, who previously joined “It’s Showtime’s” “Tawag ng Tanghalan.”

Erik also shared that although he served as mentor in the program, he learned to lot about himself from the entire experience. He said, “I’ve learned a lot from this show. I’m really grateful that I became part of this great show. I discovered a lot about myself, as well as the weaknesses and strengths of each of my members.”

Aside from the grand finalists’ performances, “I Love OPM” Grand TouriStar Yohan Hwang, Sam Concepcion, and Inigo Pascual also turned in a performance that charmed the audience.

CelebriTeams that competed in the “We Love OPM” and failed to get in the grand finals include Richard Poon’s Voice Next Door composed of Kyle Echarri, Bailey May, and Juan Karlos Labajo, Jay-R’s Hot Spots composed of Marrki Stroem, Ryan Sy, and Alex Diaz, and Nyoy Volante’s Power Chords composed of Kaye Cal, Marlo Mortel, and Marion Aunor.

Hosted by Anne Curtis, “We Love OPM: The Celebrity Sing Offs” premiered last May after the successful run of “I Love OPM.”

The celebrity mentors and CelebriTeams will come together once again in a special called “We Love OPM: Ang Soundtrack ng Buhay Natin” this Saturday (July 23) after “MMK” on ABS-CBN.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.