Nora Aunor-Starrer Wins Gawad Urian’s Best Picture, ‘Heneral Luna’ Wins 4 Major Awards

Cinema One and the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino have announced the winners of the 39th Gawad Urian this June 22 at the Kia Theater.


Multi-awarded Director Brillante Mendoza has once again added another achievement in his career as his indie film “Taklub” won this year’s Gawad Urian Best Picture.

“Sa lahat ng survivor ng bagyong Yolanda, inaalay namin sa inyo ang parangal na ito,” says Taklub’s screenwriter Honeylyn Joy Alipio who received the award.

John Lloyd Cruz, who was nominated twice in the same category, won Best Actor for the film “Honor Thy Father.”

The Gawad Urian Best Actor said that he “came as an actor to celebrate his love for Philippine Cinema.” He also thanked the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino for the recognition.

LJ Reyes on the other hand, who played a complex role for the film “Anino Sa Likod ng Buwan” emerged as this year’s Gawad Urian Best Actress. She bested Nora Aunor, Alessandra de Rossi, Mercedes Cabral, Jennylyn Mercado, Anika Dolonius, Angeli Bayani, and Ces Quesada.

Emotional during her speech, LJ recounted all the hard work she put through for the film. She also dedicated her award to the whole production team of “Anino Sa Likod Ng Buwan.” This is LJ’s first Gawad Urian award.

Meanwhile, Bernardo Bernardo and Ana Abad Santos took home the Best Supporting Actor and Actress for their supporting roles in “Imbisibol” and “Apocalypse Child,” respectively.

Romy Vitug was given a special tribute and was awarded the Natatanging Gawad Urian award for his remarkable work in cinematography in Philippine Cinema.

Power-belter Jona and rising diva Morisette stunned the crowd with their opening number and Crystal Voice of Asia Sheryn Regis and The Voice finalist Daryl Ong sung a duet to pay tribute to this year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian recipient, Mr. Romy Vitug.

The 39th Gawad Urian will have a replay on June 25, 11:30PM and on July, 3PM only on the number one cable channel in the country, Cinema One.

The Gawad Urian is the most esteemed film awards in the Philippines. The nominees and winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (MPP), a group that is composed of reputable pillars in Philippine cinema.

The MPP members are President Dr. Grace Javier Alfonso, Dr. Nic Tiongson, Professor Tito Valiente, Mario Hernando, Dr. Rolando Tolentino, Butch Francisco, Dr. Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Dr. Benilda Santos, and Lito Zulueta.

For more information, visit Cinema One’s official Facebook page ( and the official website of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (


Below is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: “Taklub”

Best Actress: LJ Reyes (“Anino sa Likod ng Buwan”)

Best Actor: John Lloyd Cruz (“Honor Thy Father”)

Best Supporting Actor: Bernardo Bernardo (“Imbisibol”)

Best Supporting Actress: Ana Abad Santos (“Apocalypse Child”)

Best Director: Jerrold Tarog (“Heneral Luna”)

Best Editing: Jerrold Tarog (“Heneral Luna”)

Best Music: Jake Abella (“ARI: My Life with a King”)

Best Sound: Mikko Quizon (“Heneral Luna”)

Best Production Design: Ben Payumo (“Water Lemon”)

Best Screenplay: Robby Tantingco (“Ari: My Life with a King”)

Best Cinematography: Pong Ignacio (“Heneral Luna”)

Best Short Film: “Wawa”

Best Documentary Film: “The Crescent Rising”

Natatanging Gawad Urian award: Romy Vitug

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.