GMA Network Excellence Award Given to Outstanding 2013 Graduates

“We are driven by our Passion for Excellence,” so goes one of the corporate values of GMA Network. It is in this spirit that the Kapuso Network recognizes the achievements of graduates from select universities who have demonstrated exemplary leadership, technical skill, and academic performance through its CSR program called the GMA Network Excellence Award.

GMA Network Excellence Awardees

Formerly known as the GMA President’s Medal, the GMA Network Excellence Award is a symbol of excellence that embodies the Network’s values and ideals – integrity, leadership, public service, and responsibility – and is given to outstanding graduates of broadcast-related courses including electronics communications engineering.

According to GMA Network’s Assistant Vice President for Corporate Affairs Ma. Teresa L. Pacis, “The Network hopes to serve as a motivational influence to all graduates to always strive for excellence and challenge them to do outstanding work when they practice their craft.”

From its inception until 2012, the GMA Network Excellence Award has cited a total of 31 students from partner universities namely University of the Philippines (Diliman, Cebu, and Mindanao), Don Bosco Technical College (Mandaluyong), and Angeles University Foundation (Pampanga). GMA Network Excellence Awardees each receive the GMA Excellence Award plaque and P10,000 cash prize.

This year, seven students, all with Latin honors, are added to this roster: Igai Jada P. Andres (Journalism), Trizia S. Terada (Broadcast Communications), and Jestine Mari Sanchez (Communication Research) from UP-Diliman, Cheska Micaela B. Kabiling (Mass Communication) from AUF, Jessica Camille G. Mamaril (Electronics Communications Engineering) from Don Bosco, King Anthony V. Perez (Mass Communication) from UP-Cebu, and Alethea Louise D. Gamalong (Communication Arts) from UP-Mindanao.

The GMA Network Excellence Award has been conferred to deserving graduates in Manila since 2001. In school year 2009-2010, the Award was introduced in the Visayas Region through UP-Cebu. In 2011, a merit award was then given to a graduate of the Lyceum Northwestern University in Dagupan. Last year, a special edition of the Award was also given to a student of Adamson University, in commemoration of its 80th Foundation Day. This 2013, the Award was launched in the Mindanao region through UP-Mindanao.

The Award has also been extended to the finalists of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) – NCR since 2012. This year’s recipient of the GMA Network Excellence Award Special Edition is Gianina Joy Nathania L. Napo a Mass Communication graduate of the Far Eastern University.

Spearheaded by the RFM Foundation, TOSP is a formation program that seeks graduating college students who have excelled academically, manifested exemplary leadership, and dedicated themselves in the service of their communities throughout their college life, all founded on strong moral values of integrity, patriotism, and selfless service.

The awardees of the GMA Network Excellence Award underwent a panel interview with select GMA Network personalities and officers and are chosen based on scholastic achievement, relevance of related works, and leadership skills.

Some awardees and finalists are now working in GMA Network, in various capacities. Among them are GMA News reporters Dano Tingcungco, Jam Sesante, Micaela Papa, GMA News Online reporter Kimberly Jane Tan, Saksi segment producer Sophia Balod, and GMA Cebu sales producer Rachel Sindo.

1 Comment on GMA Network Excellence Award Given to Outstanding 2013 Graduates

  1. roger malahay // May 18, 2013 at 1:54 am //

    that’s fulfilling social responsibility,,congrats GMA-7

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.