Girls Generation – ‘Dancing Queen’ Music Video

Check out the music video for "Dancing Queen," Girls Generation's controversial outing because of a hat worn by one of its members (Sunny) and also because of copyright issues.


“Dancing Queen” was supposed to be released by the hit Korean girl band in 2008 as their first single but it was cancelled because of its similarity to Duffy’s “Mercy.”

After they acquired the license from the original songwriter and dubbed “Dancing Queen” as a remake of “Mercy,” the single and its music video were both released before Christmas last year.

However, it was hit by another controversy. The hat being worn by one of its members (Sunny) on the video has the offensive phrase “mother f****” to it and it received flak from fans. SM Entertainment re-uploaded the music video censoring the part where Sunny and her hat appears.


While Girls Generation‘s “I Got A Boy” is still on top of MYX International Top 20 this week, their new single “Dancing Queen” enters the same chart at no. 16.

Furthermore, the K-pop girl band’s other song, “Flower Power,” is still on the chart at no. 10.

(January 26-February 1, 2013)

20. Taylor Swift – Begin Again
19. Cimorelli – Believe It [NEW]
18. Ke$ha – C’Mon [NEW]
17. Rihanna – Diamonds
16. Girls’ Generation – Dancing Queen [NEW]
15. Olly Murs feat Flo Rida – Troublemaker [+1]
14. The Script – Six Degrees Of Separation [=]
13. SHINee – Dazzling Girl [-2]
12. Greyson Chance – Sunshine And City Lights [=]
11. Austin Mahone – Say Somethin’ [+2]
10. Girls Generation – Flower Power [=]
9. Nicki Minaj – Va Va Voom [=]
8. Will.I.Am. feat Britney Spears – Scream And Shout [-3]
7. One Direction – Little Things [-3]
6. Maroon 5 – Daylight
5. Lawson – Standing In The Dark [+1]
4. Super Junior-M – Break Down [NEW]
3. Taylor Swift – I Knew You Were Trouble [=]
2. One Direction – Kiss You [=]
1. Girls’ Generation – I Got A Boy [=]

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.