Nora Aunor and Brillante Mendoza are 2012 Asia Pacific Screen Awards Winners

Our very own Nora Aunor and Brillante Mendoza emerged victorious at the 6th Asia Pacific Screen Awards which was held at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre in Brisbane, Australia, on Friday night, November 23, 2012.

Nora Aunor won the Best Performance by an Actress award for her performance in “Thy Womb.” She bested Cho Min-soo for “Pieta” (Korea), Darya Ekamasova for “Zila bila odna baba” (Once Upon a Time There Lived a Simple Woman) from Russia, Humaima Malick for “Bol” (Pakistan), and Vidya Balan for “The Dirty Picture” (India).

On the other hand, “Thy Womb” director Brillante Mendoza was named Best Director. He defeated Anurag Kashyap for “Gangs of Wasseypur” (India), Cheng Er for “Lethal Hostage” (China), Khosro Masoumi for “Khers” (Iran) and Reis Çelik for “Lal gece” (Night of Silence) from Turkey.

“Tepenin Ardi” (Beyond the Hill), a joint production of Turkey and Greece, was hailed as the Best Feature Film. The Best Actor trophy went to Choi Min-sik of South Korea for the film “Bumchoiwaui Junjaeng” (Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time).

Meanwhile, Chris Martinez, who was nominated for Best Screenplay for “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank” failed to win the award.

Click HERE for the complete list of winners of Asia Pacific Screen Awards 2012.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.