The Amazing Race Philippines – Meet the 11 Teams Racing for P2 Million Cash Prize

Once again, TV5 is out to prove that there is more to Philippine primetime television than soap operas with the upcoming season of The Amazing Race Philippines (TARP).

The program is the Filipino version of the world’s most awarded and most successful reality show, The Amazing Race (TAR). Hosted by sportsman Derek Ramsay, TARP is part of TV5’s series of programs for the last quarter of 2012. It will air starting on October 29 from Monday to Friday after Wil Time Bigtime and Saturday after Talentadong Pinoy Worldwide.

The Kapatid Network did not fail to stun mall-goers, office workers and members of the press when it launched TARP in spectacular fashion, which proved TV5’s commitment to a high level of production. Perhaps one of the most hardworking actors today, Derek is back on TARP after hosting the London 2012 Olympics in July for TV5 and AKTV. Unknown to the public, Derek and the TARP team secretly shot in different parts of the country for a full month. A self-confessed TAR fanatic himself, Derek said: “If there’s anything I can take away from this experience, it’s that I know firsthand what the teams had to do to win the PhP 2 million. There were also times while filming that I could not help but stop and appreciate just how amazing the Philippines is. No wonder everything is more fun here.”

TARP is co-produced with ActiveTV, the same production company behind the Emmy-nominated and two-time Asian TV Awards winner TAR Asia. TARP’s high-quality production value sees the collaboration of TV5’s passion for excellent Filipino programming and the expertise of the franchise’s executive producer and director, Michael McKay. Having led the TAR franchise to Emmy victory, McKay was commissioned by TV5 to helm the Filipino version’s production—ensuring the same adrenalin rush is present in TARP.

TARP is indeed the Kapatid Network’s most ambitious reality show to date. At the center of the entire production is the spirit of the 11 teams vying to be the first to hit the mat at the Finish Line. This season has an interesting mix of characters that are sure to charm their way into Filipino hearts and homes. The pairs racing for glory and PhP 2 million are: celebrity best friends LJ Moreno and CJ Jarabata, magbayaw Dayal Chowdary, Jr. and Fausto Reyes, gym buddies Marc Duñgo and Kat Tan, amigas Jervi Lisaba and Saida Diola, reunited friends Sheena Vera Cruz and Gee “Speedy” Canlas, Alabang housewives Pam Spella and Vanessa Ishitani, mag-ama Ed and Angel Movido, mag-kumpare Boom Vergara and Cheng Enriquez, football brothers Armand and Anton del Rosario, bombshells Dani Castano and Mish Van Ruyven, and dating couple Crystel Castro and Mykey Lacson.

Watch out for the biggest reality show this year starting on October 29 nightly after Wil Time Bigtime on TV5. Get real-time updates online via TARP’s official social media accounts: @Amazing_RacePH and hashtag #AmazingRacePH on Twitter and The Amazing Race Philippines fan page on Facebook. You may also visit for exclusive online contents about the show.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.