30th Luna Awards – 2012 Big Winners are ‘Thelma’ and ‘Manila Kingpin’

"Manila Kingpin" and "Thelma" emerged as the big winners in the recently concluded 30th Luna Awards of the Film Academy of the Philippines.

The 2011 MMFF Best Picture–“Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story“–also won Luna’s top plum plus 5 more awards including Best Actor for George E.R. Estregan and Best Supporting Actor for John Regala.

Gawad Urian Best Actress Maja Salvador also bagged Luna’s Best Actress trophy for “Thelma.” This is her second win for the Indie film. Her director, Paul Soriano, won Best Direction for the said film.

Surprise winner of the night was Lovi Poe who won Best Supporting Actress for “Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow.”

Urian Best Picture “Ang Sayaw ng Dalawang Kaliwang Paa” and Cinemalaya Best Picture “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank” did not win any award.

Here’s the complete list of winners for the 30th Luna Awards (2012):

Best Film

Manila Kingpin: The Asiong Salonga Story (Scenema Concept Intl. Productions)

Best Direction

Paul Soriano (Thelma)

Best Actor

Jeorge E.R. Estregan (Manila Kingpin)

Best Actress

Maja Salvador (Thelma)

Best Supporting Actor

John Regala (Manila Kingpin)

Best Supporting Actress

Lovi Poe (Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow)

Best Screenplay

Froilan Medina and Paul Soriano (Thelma)

Best Cinematography

Odyssey Flores (Thelma)

Best Production Design

Fritz Silorio and Mona Silorio (Manila Kingpin)

Best Editing

Jason Cahapay and Ryan Orduna (Manila Kingpin)

Best Music

Raul Mitra (No Other Woman)

Best Sound

Albert Michael Idioma (Manila Kingpin)


Golden Reel Award:
Rodolfo “Dolphy” Vera Quizon

FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award:
Augusto Salvador

Manuel de Leon Award for Exemplary Achievement:
Manuel “Jun” Urbano

Lamberto Avellana Memorial Award:
Ben Feleo, Don Escudero and Jose Batac

Photo Credit: Film Academy of the Philippines

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.