TV Patrol Silver Anniversary Special Airs on ABS-CBN this Sunday

The anchors and reporters of “TV Patrol” took a timeout from news reporting to entertain and show off their creative chops to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the country’s leading newscast last Friday (July 27) at the Manila Hotel.

As if to show that journalists know how to have fun, “TV Patrol” anchor Noli ‘Kabayan’ de Castro serenaded the crowd and Korina Sanchez crooned the Filipino classic “Kahit Maputi na ang Buhok Ko” in “25 Taong Patrol ng Pilipino: The TV Patrol Silver Anniversary Special” to be aired on Sunday (August 5), 11 p.m. on ABS-CBN.

Also turning the heat up the dance floor were “TV Patrol Weekend” anchor Pinky Webb and Star patrollers Gretchen Fullido, Phoemela Baranda, Ginger Conejero, and Marie Lozano, who turned in an alluring salsa performance.

The audience also erupted with laughter from the comic duets of Tony Velasquez and Kitkat, Marc Logan and Cacai Bautista, Doris Bigornia and Leo Martinez, and Henry Omaga-Diaz who was noticeably nervous in his song number with comedienne Ethel Booba.

Besides the stellar performances, the celebration also honored the pioneers and past newscasters of “TV Patrol” such as the late Angelo Castro Jr., Rolly V. Cruz, Frankie Evangelista and Ernie Baron whose awards were received by their respective families.

The star-studded event, which was attended by the biggest newsmakers in the country, also revisited the biggest news reports delivered by TV Patrol’s bold reporters as well as the stories that inspired and brought hope to the nation.

“‘TV Patrol’ reflects the condition of our country, what needs to be changed, and what needs to be stopped. We will work with Filipinos in their fight to make their lives better, to uphold democracy, and to celebrate victories,” said ABS-CBN chairman and CEO Eugenio “Gabby” Lopez III.

Kapamilya stars also shone in the event with performances from Dulce, Vina Morales, Basil Valdez, Bituin Escalante, Jed Madela, Gloc-9, Freddie Aguilar and the Watawat Band, Pepe Smith, Erik Santos, Angeline Quinto, Jovit Baldivino, and Marcelito Pomoy.

Don’t miss “25 Taong Patrol ng Pilipino: The TV Patrol Silver Anniversary Special” hosted by ‘Kabayan,’ Korina, and Ted Failon this Sunday (August 5) after “Gandang Gabi Vice” on ABS-CBN. For information and updates, follow @TVPatrol on Twitter or like

Click through the photos below for an exclusive look at the event’s highlights.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.