MYX Music Awards 2012 Nominees Announced

The nominees for MYX Music Awards 2012 was announced yesterday, February 8, on, another first from the no. 1 music channel in the Philippines.

This year’s announcement of MYX Music Awards’ nominees last February 8 (Wednesday), 3 p.m., was more special and fun, as it was witnessed live via the top music channel’s equally patronized online platform

Last year was believed to be the emergence of fresh OPM acts and the return to original compositions. That’s why MYX Channel Head Andre Allan Alvarez wants to continue the channel’s legacy, as he aims to jumpstart OPM’s new Golden Age

It can be recalled that the 70’s was the Golden Age of OPM. Now, the MYX Music Awards proudly brings back this colorful era with a series of offerings that every music lover will surely love.

He added that every music and artist—be it rock, pop, R&B, etc.—has its own potential of getting known worldwide.

“As a music channel, MYX takes pride in letting artists perform no matter which network or station they belong to. So long as you’re a performer or a musician, MYX welcomes you, regardless of network affiliation,” Alvarez said.

At the live nomination, MYX VJs joined in the fun, while Rock Princess Yeng Constantino, electronica-themed Somedaydream and Zia Quizon spiced up the event with their exciting performances. The nominations also went in depth, as the media participated in this session.

MYX Music Awards, which is the biggest award-giving body in Philippine music, aims to uplift and honor the best-of-the-best original Pilipino music or OPM. With the tagline “Your Choice. Your Music.” MYX has always been commended for being the venue of fresh talents to the biggest mainstream artists.

The fate of country’s most favorite artists are in the hands of worldwide music lovers. Voting is now officially open and will run until March 9 (Friday) 2012. Fans’ online votes will determine the 60% of a nominee’s total score, and the other 40% will be from the artists’ poll. For more information on the online voting, everyone is encouraged to logon to and and follow @myxphilippines on Twitter. Voters are only allowed to vote once per category a day.

The much-awaited MYX Music Awards 2012 night on March 13 (Tuesday) at the Music Museum will be streamed live on for the very first time.

MYX (SkyCable Channel 23) is available on SkyCable Platinum, SkyCable Gold, SkyCable Silver and over 200 quality cable operators nationwide. For updates, download the MYX Charts app from Android Market and install free of charge.


Favorite Music Video

· 20/20 – Pupil (Director: Jason Tan)
· Gaano Ko Ikaw Kamahal – Itchyworms (Director: King Palisoc)
· Hey Daydreamer – Somedaydream (Director: Bianca King & Envo Valdez)
· Pangarap Lang Kita – Parokya Ni Edgar Feat. Happee Sy (Director: Avid Liongoren)
· Pera Pera – Sandwich (Director: Marie Jamora)

Favorite Song

· 20/20 – Pupil
· Ako Na Lang – Zia Quizon
· Hey Daydreamer – Somedaydream
· Pangarap Lang Kita – Parokya Ni Edgar Feat. Happee Sy
· Walang Natira – Gloc-9 Feat. Sheng Belmonte

Favorite Artist

· Christian Bautista
· Gloc-9
· Parokya Ni Edgar
· Somedaydream
· Yeng Constantino

Favorite Female Artist

· Karylle
· Kyla
· Sarah Geronimo
· Yeng Constantino
· Zia Quizon

Favorite Male Artist

· Bamboo
· Christian Bautista
· Gloc-9
· Sam Concepcion
· Somedaydream

Favorite Group

· Itchyworms
· Parokya Ni Edgar
· Pupil
· Slapshock
· Sponge Cola

Favorite Mellow Video

· Hindi Kita Iiwan – Sam Milby (Director: Treb Monteras)
· Kay Tagal Kitang Hinintay – Sponge Cola (Director: Yan Yuzon)
· Lagi – Kiss Jane (Director: J. Pacena)
· Wag Mo Na Munang Sabihin – Sitti (Director: Rember Gelera)
· Wala Na Tayo – Bbs Feat. Kean Cipriano (Director: J. Pacena)

Favorite Rock Video

· 20/20 – Pupil (Director: Jason Tan)
· Halik – Kamikazee (Director: Avid Liongoren)
· Ngayon Na – Slapshock (Director: Team Manila)
· Pera Pera – Sandwich (Director: Marie Jamora)
· Unbelievable – Chicosci (Director: Tower Of Doom / Paolo Ruiz)

Favorite Urban Video

· Ain’t A Crime – Amber Davis (Director: Luis Daniel Tabuena)
· Connection – Chelo A, Q-York & Jay R (Director: Treb Monteras)
· Elmer – Gloc-9 Feat. Jaq Dionisio & Jomal Linao (Director: J. Pacena)
· Heartbreaker – Mobbstarr (Director: Ace Villena)
· Kaibigan Lang (Remix) – Young Jv

Favorite New Artist

· Angeline Quinto
· Ebe Dancel
· Solenn
· Somedaydream
· Zia Quizon

Favorite Collaboration

· Meron Akong Ano – Kamikazee Feat. Chito Miranda, Reg Rubio & Ian Tayao
· One Hit Combo – Parokya Ni Edgar Feat. Gloc-9
· Pawiin – Bbs Feat. Kean Cipriano & Jay Durias
· Sari-Saring Kuwento – Champ Feat. Noel Cabangon & Gloc-9
· Walang Natira – Gloc-9 Feat. Sheng Belmonte

Favorite Remake

· Fire – Solenn
· Forever Young – Sam Concepcion
· Gaano Ko Ikaw Kamahal – Itchyworms
· Love Moves In Mysterious Ways – Christian Bautista Feat. Kris Aquino
· Unbelievable – Chicosci

Favorite Media Soundtrack

· Bumuhos Man Ang Ulan – Jericho Rosales (Green Rose)
· Fallin’ – Sarah Geronimo (Catch Me I’m In Love)
· I’m Already King – Christian Bautista (A Special Symphony)
· Kahit Walang Sabihin – Rico Blanco (Imortal)
· Where Do I Begin – Gary Valenciano (In The Name Of Love)

Favorite Guest Appearance In A Music Video

· Alodia Gosengfiao (All That’s Left – Christian Bautista)
· Enrique Gil (Ako Na Lang – Zia Quizon)
· Jasmine Curtis (Hey Daydreamer – Somedaydream)
· Jm De Guzman (Pangarap Lang Kita – Parokya Ni Edgar Feat. Happee Sy)
· Kuya Kim & Eugene Domingo (Wala Na Tayo – Bbs Feat. Kean Cipriano)

Favorite Myx Celebrity Vj

· Enchong Dee
· Kean Cipriano
· Rocksteddy
· Sam Concepcion
· Somedaydream

Favorite Myx Live Performance

· Ebe Dancel
· Juris
· Kyla
· Parokya Ni Edgar
· Pupil

Favorite International Video

· Born This Way – Lady Gaga
· Firework – Katy Perry
· Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 Feat. Christina Aguilera
· The Lazy Song – Bruno Mars
· What Makes You Beautiful – One Direction

Favorite K-Pop Video

· Break Down – Kim Hyun Joong
· Lonely – 2ne1
· Mr. Simple – Super Junior
· The Boys – Girls’ Generation
· Tonight – Big Bang

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.