TV5 Receives 24 Recognitions at the 20th KBP Golden Dove Awards

In recognition of TV5’s quality programming and commendable broadcast standards, the Kapatid Network and its subsidiaries bagged 24 awards and nominations at the 20th Golden Dove Awards by the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP) held last Tuesday, October 26, at Aliw Theater, Manila.

The longest-running children’s program Batibot won the Best Children’s Program – the newest addition to the program’s long list of recognitions here and abroad. Meanwhile, for three years in a row already, KBP hailed Talentadong Pinoy as the Best Variety Program. Roderick Paulate also bagged the Best Actor for Drama Program trophy for Star Confessions.

On the news and information front, DOKYU5’s initial offering “Bayani: Isang Imbestigasyon sa Pagkatao at Pakikibaka ni Dr. Rizal,” which commemorates the sesquicentennial or 150 years of Jose Rizal, won as Best Documentary. NEWS5 chief Luchi Cruz-Valdes earned the Best Public Affairs Host trophy for the investigative program Journo, which was also nominated as Best Public Affairs Program in Metro Manila.

Medical service program Alagang Kapatid and host Cheryl Cosim won Best Public Service Program and Best Public Service Program Host, respectively. Currently hosted by 2009 CNN Hero Efren Peñaflorida, Aksyon TV Channel 41’s Ako Mismo clinched the Best Magazine Program. Moreover, Radyo5 92.3 NEWS FM’s Chink Positive hosted by Chinkee Tan with Cristina Lazo got the Best Special Program trophy.

Meanwhile, TV5 was nominated in the Best Television Station-Metro Manila category. The network’s combined Rizal’s sesquicentennial and Independence Day plug was nominated in the Best TV Public Service Announcement category. The Kapatid Network also clinched the following nominations: Wow Mali and LokoMoko (Best Comedy Program), Babaeng Hampaslupa (Best Drama Program), and Mr. Eddie Garcia and Ms. Susan Roces for Best Actor and Best Actress for Drama Program for Babaeng Hampaslupa, respectively.

The first AM station in the FM band was also nominated in the Best FM Radio Station category, while its programs Oplan Asenso (anchored by Gerard dela Peña and Michelle Orosa-Ople) and Love Idols (hosted by Maverick Relova and Ariel Villasanta) were nominated in the Best Special Program and Best Radio Comedy Program categories, respectively. Sports block AKTV’s Astig was also nominated as the Best Sports Program.

The following TV5 provincial affiliates were also nominated: TV5 Naga – PBN Broadcasting Network (Best TV Station – Provincial), DWGV Pampanga – FM 99.1 MediaScape, Inc. (Best FM Radio Station – Provincial) and Aksyon Central Luzon – DWGV-AM Mediascape Inc. (Best Public Affairs Program – Provincial).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.