BAFTA Snubs ‘Avatar’, Picks ‘The Hurt Locker’ as Best Picture

The war drama movie "The Hurt Locker" dominated the 63rd British Academy for Film and Television Arts or the BAFTA Awards (Europe's version of the Oscars).

James Cameron‘s ex-wife Kathryn Bigelow won Best Director for “The Hurt Locker” making her the first female to win the award in 63 years! Kathryn bested his ex-husband Cameron, the director of two highest-grossing movies of all time–Avatar and Titanic!

The Hurt Locker also won Best Editing, Best Sound, Best Original Screenplay, Best Cinematography and the coveted Best Picture award. Can she also beat her ex-husband at the Oscars and be the first female Best Director awardee in the history of the Academy Awards? We will find out on March 7.

For the meantime, here is the complete list of winners for the 2010 BAFTA Awards:

Best Film

* The Hurt Locker

Best Actor

* Colin Firth – A Single Man

Best Actress

* Carey Mulligan – An Education as Jenny Miller

Best Animated Film

* Up – Pete Docter

Best Cinematography

* The Hurt Locker

Best Costume Design

* The Young Victoria

Best Director

* Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker

Best Editing

* The Hurt Locker

Outstanding British Film

* Fish Tank

Best Film Not in the English Language

* A Prophet (Un prophète) • France

Best Makeup and Hair

* The Young Victoria

Best Music (Anthony Asquith Award for Film Music)

* Up – Michael Giacchino

Best Production Design

* Avatar

Best Adapted Screenplay

* Up in the Air – Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Best Original Screenplay

* The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal

Best Sound

* The Hurt Locker

Best Supporting Actor

* Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds as Col. Hans Landa

Best Supporting Actress

* Mo’Nique – Precious as Mary Lee Jones

Best Special Visual Effects

* Avatar

Best Short Animation

* Mother of Many

Best Short Film

* I Do Air

Outstanding Debut by a British director, writer or producer

* Duncan Jones (Director) – Moon

The Orange Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)

* Kristen Stewart

Academy Fellowship

* Vanessa Redgrave

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.