People Asia Names 2009 ‘People of the Year’ Awardees

People Asia magazine honored 16 outstanding personalities in its annual list of "People of the Year" recently at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza.

The 2009 People of the Year honorees are the following:

Jessica Soho – GMA 7’s Vice President for News, a multi-awarded broadcast journalist whose popular program “Reunions” has reunited so many missing persons with their families

Charo Santos-Concio – host of the longest-running drama anthology Maalaala Mo Kaya and the first female president of giant network ABS-CBN

Rico Hizon – the only Filipino anchor for the British Broadcasting Corp. (BBC World News)

Emil Jurado – a veteran journalist and Manila Overseas Press Club chairman emeritus who has been wielding his pen to amuse, exasperate and deliver exposes from the time of President Elpidio Quirino up to the present

Efren Penaflorida – 2009 CNN Hero of the Year who has given hope to thousands of Filipino children by providing them with basic education and diverting their attention from joining street gangs and petty crime groups

Nedy Tantoco – Rustan Marketing Corporation president

Kaye Tinga – Taguig City First Lady

Agnes Devanadera – Department of Justice Secretary

Bernd Schneider – Former General Manager of Sofitel Philippine Plaza

Fr. Bienvenido Nebres – Ateneo de Manila University President

Gilberto “Gibo” Teodoro – Presidential Candidate, 2010 Elections

Inno Sotto – Renowned fashion designer

Manny “Pacman” Pacquiao – The first and only boxer in the world to win seven world titles in seven different weight divisions

Benigno ‘Noynoy’ Aquino – Presidential Candidate, 2010 Elections

Mita Rufino – Art patron/florist

Nonito “The Flash” Donaire – Boxing champion

People Asia also handed out special awards to “Ondoy” heroes: Quezon City Judge Ralph Lee, the “jetski judge;” and actors Jericho Rosales and Gerald Anderson, who risked their lives to rescue flood victims. A posthumous award was given to Muelmar Magallanes for giving his life to save his family and neighbors during the flood.

Special awards were also given to the province of Camarines Sur, led by Gov. LRay Villafuerte as the “Top Destination of the Year;” Nivat Chantarachoti, general manager of Thai Airways; Agriculture Secretary Arthur Yap, whose programs have been helping uplift the lives of farmers; Spanish Ambassador Luis Arias Romero; Sarah Geronimo, who will be given special recognition for her achievements in the field of entertainment; and the Singapore Airlines A380, the “Oasis in the Sky.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.