MMFF Best Actor Winners from 1975 to 2008

In the past 34 years of Metro Manila Film Festival, one actor won the Best Actor award 8 times!

Veteran actor Christopher de Leon grabbed the Best Actor trophy in the Metro Manila Film Festival for a whopping 8 times: In 1976 for the film Ganito Kami Noon, Paano na Kami Ngayon?, in 1982 for Haplos, in 1985 for God Save Me, in 1989 for Imortal, in 1997 for Nasaan ang Puso?, in 1999 for Bulaklak ng Maynila, in 2004 for Mano Po 3 and last year for Magkaibigan.

Apparently, Christopher de Leon is not in the running for Best Actor this year for his role as Sharon Cuneta‘s husband in Mano Po 6: A Mother’s Love. Although his role is substantial to the story, his short appearance in the movie might not be enough for the committee for him to get nominated.

MMFF Best Actor Winners from 1975 to 2008

1975 – Joseph Estrada (Diligan Mo ng Hamog ang Uhaw na Lupa)
1976 – Christopher de Leon (Ganito Kami Noon, Paano Kayo Ngayon?)
1977 – Rolly Quizon (Burlesk Queen)
1978 – NONE (only the BEST PERFORMER AWARD is given)
1979 – Raul Aragon (Ina ka ng anak mo)
1980 – Dindo Fernando (Langis at tubig)
1981 – Vic Silayan (Kisapmata)
1982 – Christopher de Leon (Haplos)
1983 – Anthony Alonzo (Bago Kumalat ang Kamandag)
1984 – Herbert Bautista (Shake, Rattle & Roll)
1985 – Christopher de Leon (God Save Me)
1986 – no winner
1987 – Anthony Alonzo (Anak badjao)
1988 – Baldo Marro (Patrolman)
1989 – Christopher de Leon (Imortal)
1990 – Dolphy (Espadang Patpat)
1991 – Eric Quizon (Juan Tamad at Mr. Shooli: Mongolian Barbecue)
1992 – Aga Muhlach (Bakit Labis Kitang Mahal)
1993 – Aga Muhlach (May minamahal)
1994 – Gabby Concepcion
1995 – Richard Gomez (Dahas)
1996 – no winner
1997 – Christopher De Leon (Nasaan Ang Puso?)
1998 – Cesar Montano (Jose Rizal)
1999 – Christopher de Leon (Bulaklak ng Maynila)
2000 – Johnny Delgado (Tanging Yaman)
2001 – Cesar Montano {Bagong Buwan}
2002 – Eddie Garcia (Mano Po)
2003 – Eric Quizon (Crying Ladies)
2004 – Christopher de Leon (Mano Po 3: My Love)
2005 – Marvin Agustin (Kutob)
2006 – Cesar Montano (Ligalig)
2007 – Jinggoy Estrada (Katas ng Saudi)
2008 – Christopher de Leon (Magkaibigan)

Aside from Christopher de Leon, also in the running for Best Actor in MMFF this year are Dolphy (Nobody Nobody but Juan), Bong Revilla, Jr. (Ang Panday), Gabby Concepcion (I Love You, Goodbye), Vic Sotto (Ang Darling Kong Aswang) and Dennis Trillo (Mano Po 6).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.