Star Awards for Movies – 2009 Winners

The period film Baler starring Anne Curtis and Jericho Rosales bested critically acclaimed movies like Jay and Ploning by winning 9 trophies in the 25th Star Awards for Movies including Movie of the Year.

The awarding ceremony was held on May 28 at the Henry Lee Irwin Theater of Ateneo De Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City.

Hosting the event were Ai-Ai delas Alas, Maricel Soriano, and Cesar Montano.

Here is the list of nominees and winners (in red font) for the 25th Star Awards for Movies:

Movie of the Year

A Very Special Love (Star Cinema)

Baler (Viva Films and Bida Productions) – Winner!

Caregiver (Star Cinema)

Kulam (Regal Entertainment)

Magkaibigan (Maverick Films)

Ploning (Panoramanila Pictures Co.)

Digital Movie of the Year

100 (Martinez Rivera Films Productions)

Boses (Erasto Films)

Paupahan (ATD Productions)

Torotot (Viva Digital)

Yanggaw (Creative Programs Inc./Strawdogs Studio Productions) – Winner!

Sisa (Oncam Productions)

Jay (Pasion Para Pelicula Productions)

Movie Director of the Year

Dante Nico Garcia (Ploning)

Cathy-Garcia Molina (A Very Special Love)

Jun Lana (Kulam)

Mark Meily (Baler) – winner!

Chito Roño (Caregiver)

Digital Movie Director of the Year

Crisostomo Juan Andaluz (Sisa)

Maryo J. delos Reyes (Torotot)

Ellen Ongkeko Marfil (Boses)

Chris Martinez (100)

Francis Xavier Pasion (Jay)

Richard Somes (Yanggaw) – Winner!

Joven Tan (Paupahan)

Movie Actor of the Year

Carlo Aquino (Carnivore)

John Lloyd Cruz (A Very Special Love)

Allen Dizon (Paupahan)

Baron Geisler (Jay)

Ronnie Lazaro (Yanggaw)

Aga Muhlach (When Love Begins)

Jericho Rosales (Baler) – Winner!

Movie Actress of the Year

Irma Adlawan (Hubad)

Sharon Cuneta (Caregiver) – Winner!

Anne Curtis (Baler)

Mylene Dizon (100)

Gloria Romero (Fuchsia)

Judy Ann Santos (Kulam)

Jodi Sta Maria (Sisa)

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year

Ricky Davao (Boses)

Emilio Garcia (Walang Kawala) – Winner!

Baron Geisler (Baler)

German Moreno (Paupahan) – Winner!

Phillip Salvador (Baler)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year

Tetchie Agbayani (Yanggaw)

Shamaine Buencamino (Ang Lihim ni Antonio)

Gloria Romero (Paupahan)

Tessie Tomas (100)

Snooky Serna (Paupahan)

New Movie Actor of the Year

Julian Duque (Boses)

Bojong Fernandez (Ploning)

Kenjie Garcia (Ang Lihim ni Antonio)

Carlo Guevara (Desperadas 2)

Sherwin Ordoñez (Kurap) – Winner!

Prince Stefan (Shake, Rattle & Roll X, “Class Picture” episode)

New Movie Actress of the Year

Precious Adona (Torotot)

Ynna Asistio (Concerto)

KC Concepcion (For The First Time) – Winner!

Niña Jose (Shake, Rattle & Roll X, “Class Picture” episode)

Chariz Solomon (My Best Friend’s Girlfriend)

Movie Child Performer of the Year

Julian Duque (Boses) – Winner!

Ashley Rhein Arca (Kurap)

Tala Santos (Boses)

Sharlene San Pedro (Kulam)

Robert Villar (Shake, Rattle & Roll X, “Nieves” episode)

Original Movie Screenplay of the Year

Roy Iglesias (Baler) – Winner!

Raz Sobida-Dela Torre (A Very Special Love)

Dante Nico Garcia and Benjamin Lingan (Ploning)

Jun Lana, Elmer Gatchalian and Renato Custodio (Kulam)

Chris Martinez (Caregiver)

Digital Original Movie Screenplay of the Year

Dennis Evangelista (Paupahan) – Winner!

Chris Martinez (100)

Froi Medina and Rody Vera (Boses)

Francis Xavier Pasion (Jay)

Richard Somes (Yanggaw)

Movie Cinematographer of the Year

Eli Balce (Caregiver)

Lee Meily (Baler) – Winner!

Charlie S. Peralta (Ploning)

Manuel Teehankee (A Very Special Love)

Moises Zee (Kulam)

Digital Movie Cinematographer of the Year

Albert Banzon (Sisa)

Hermann Claravall and Lyle Sacris (Yanggaw) – Winner!

Larry Manda (100)

Lee Meily (Lovebirds)

Romy Vitug (Paupahan)

Movie Editor of the Year

Danny Añonuevo (Baler) – Winner!

Danny Añonuevo (Ploning)

Manet Dayrit (Caregiver)

Marya Ignacio (A Very Special Love)

Ria De Guzman, Renewin Alano & Mikael Angelo Pestano (Kulam)


Ulirang Artista Award:
Gov. Vilma Santos

Special Recognition:
Himala for winning CNN’s Best Asian Film of All Time

Newsmaker of the Year:
Manny Pacquiao

Darling of the Press:
Herbert Bautista

Award for Cinematic Excellence in Filipino Animation:
Dayo (Cutting Edge Productions) and Urduja (APT Entertainment)

Male Star of the Night:
John Lloyd Cruz

Female Star of the Night:
Sarah Geronimo

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.