Pacquiao Named Fighter of the Year by BWAA

The Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA) has just named Manny Pacquiao Fighter of the Year after a dominating win against boxing superstar Oscar De La Hoya.

Our Pambansang Kamao won three times in 2008. He won via split decision in his second encounter with Mexican slugger Juan Manuel Marquez in the World Boxing Council (WBC) world super-featherweight championship bout in March. He stopped American Juan Diaz in nine rounds in their WBC lightweight title fight in June. And in December, Pacman defeated the golden boy Oscar de la Hoya.

The BWAA made the announcement on Tuesday, the second time Pacquiao emerged winner of the vote after claiming the title in 2006, when he was also named Ring Magazine’s Fighter of the Year.

Joe Calzaghe was runner-up, but voted manager of the year Tuesday for guiding his own career. The undefeated former super middleweight champion recently retired.

Pacquiao’s trainer, Freddie Roach, was voted Trainer of the Year for the third time.

The super batamweight rubber match between Israel Vazquez and Rafael Marquez was chosen Fight of the Year. Vazquez won the fight by split decision.

The awards will be presented at the annual BWAA dinner June 12 in New York.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.