Pupil Tops NU107 Rock Awards 2008 Winners

Ely Buendia's band Pupil grabbed 5 trophies in the 2008 NU107 Rock Awards Thursday night at Silvercity, Frontera Verde in Pasig City.

Pupil won the major plum like Artist of the Year and Album of the Year, however, their lead vocalist Ely Buendia (former frontman of the Eraserheads) lost to Rico Blanco (former frontman of Rivermaya) in the Vocalist of the Year category.

Sandwich was able to win 3 awards including Song of the Year for “Betamax.”

Bands that performed last night were The Dawn, Radioactive Sago Project, Pupil, Markus Highway, Greyhoundz, Razorback, Urbandub and Sandwich.

Here’s the complete list of winners for the 2008 NU107 Rock Awards:

Best New Artist:
The Out of Body Special

Vocalist Of The Year:
Rico Blanco

Guitarist Of The Year:
LC De Leon of Reklamo

Bassist Of The Year:
Nino Avenido for The Out of Body Special

Drummer Of The Year:
Wendell Garcia of Pupil

Best Live Act:

Artist Of The Year:

Album Of The Year:
“Wild Life” of Pupil

Best Album Packaging: for “Marks the Spot” of Sandwich

Song Of The Year:
“Betamax” by Sandwich

Best Music Video:
“Monobloc” of Pupil (Directed by King Palisoc)

Red Horse In The Raw Award:
Bembol Rockers

Producer Of The Year:
Pupil and Jerome Velasco for “Wildlife” of Pupil

Smart / Urock College Band Of The Year:
Twin Lobster from St. Scholastica’s College

Smart Buddy Listener’s Choice Award:

Hall of Fame:
San Miguel Corporation

Nokia IAC Award:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.