Britney Spears Dominates 2008 MTV Video Music Awards

Last year, she was criticized on her disastrous comeback performance at the MTV Video Music Awards. This year, Britney Spears vindicated herself by sweeping the awards night by winning the first three "Moonman" statuettes of her career.

The Pop Princess, whose career has been overshadowed lately by personal problems, took home the awards for video of the year, best pop video and best female video, all for the tune “Piece of Me.” She beats heavy favorites like Jordin Sparks, Mariah Carey and Rihanna.

“I’m in shock right now,” the Britney said after taking the stage for her third award and the major award of the year – Video of the Year!

Her song “Piece of Me” is the one where the word “Philippines” was mentioned.

The complete nominees and winners (in asterisk) for the 2008 MTV Video Music Awards:

Video of the Year
* Britney Spears, Piece of Me
Chris Brown, Forever
Jonas Brothers, Burnin’ Up
Pussycat Dolls, When I Grow Up
The Ting Tings, Shut Up and Let Me Go

Best Female Video
* Britney Spears, Piece of Me
Mariah Carey, Touch My Body
Katy Perry, I Kissed A Girl
Rihanna, Take A Bow
Jordin Sparks, No Air

Best Male Video
* Chris Brown, With You
Flo Rida, Low
Lil Wayne, Lollipop
T.I., No Matter What
Usher, Love This Club

Best Hip Hop Video
* Lil Wayne, Lollipop
Mary J. Blige, Just Fine
Lupe Fiasco, Superstar
Flo Rida, Low
Kanye West, Homecoming

Best Pop Video
* Britney Spears, Piece of Me
Danity Kane, Damaged
Jonas Brothers, Burnin Up
Panic at the Disco, Nine in the Afternoon
Tokio Hotel, Ready, Set, Go!

Best Dancing in a Video
* Pussycat Dolls, When I Grow Up
Chris Brown, Forever
Danity Kane, Damaged
Madonna, 4 Minutes
Ne Yo, Closer

Best Rock Video
* Linkin Park, Shadow of the Day
Fall Out Boy, Beat It
Foo Fighters, The Pretender
Parmamore, crushcrushcrush
Slipknot, Psychosocial

Best New Artist
* Tokio Hotel, Ready, Set Go!
Miley Cyrus, 7 Things
Katy Perry, I Kissed a Girl
Jordin Sparks, No Air
Taylor Swift, Teardrops on My Guitar

Best Direction in a Video
Linkin Park — “Shadow of the Day” (Director: Joe Hahn
* Erykah Badu — “Honey” (Director: Erykah Badu & Mr. Roboto)
Panic at the Disco — “Nine in the Afternoon” (Director: Shane Drake)
Pussycat Dolls — “When I Grow Up” (Director: Joseph Kahn)
Rihanna — “Take a Bow” (Director: Anthony Mandler)

Best Choreography in a Video
Adele — “Chasing Pavements” (Choreographer: Marguerite Derricks)
Chris Brown — “Forever” (Choreographers: Tone & Rich)
Chris Brown (featuring T-Pain) — “Kiss Kiss” (Choreographer: Flii Stylz)
* Gnarls Barkley — “Run” (Choreographer: Michael Rooney)
Pussycat Dolls — “When I Grow Up” (Choreographers: Robin Antin and Mikey Minden)

Best Special Effects in a Video
Erykah Badu — “Honey” (Special Effects: X1 FX)
Coldplay — “Violet Hill” (Special Effects: Asa Mader)
Missy Elliott — “Ching-a-Ling/Shake Your Pom Pom” (Special Effects: Les Umberger)
Linkin Park — “Bleed It Out” (Special Effects: David Lebensfeld and Adam Catino)
* Kanye West (featuring T-Pain) — “Good Life” (Special Effects: SoMe, Jonas & François)

Best Art Direction in a Video
* Gnarls Barkley — “Run” (Art Directors: Happy and Kells Jesse)
MGMT — “Electric Feel” (Art Director: Sophie Kosofsky)
Katy Perry — “I Kissed a Girl” (Art Director: Benji Bamps)
Pussycat Dolls — “When I Grow Up” (Art Director: Marcelle Gravel)
The White Stripes — “Conquest” (Art Director: David Fitzpatrick)

Best Editing in a Video
Erykah Badu — “Honey” (Editor: T. David Binns)
* Death Cab for Cutie — “I Will Possess Your Heart” (Editors: Aaron Stewart-Ahn and Jeff Buchanan)
Ne-Yo — “Closer” (Editor: Clark Eddy)
Katy Perry — “I Kissed a Girl” (Editor: Tom Lindsay)
Weezer — “Pork and Beans” (Editor: Jeff Consiglio and Colin Woods)

Best Cinematography in a Video
Erykah Badu — “Honey” (Director of Photography: Karsten “Crash” Gopinath)
Death Cab for Cutie — “I Will Possess Your Heart” (Directors of Photography: Aaron Stewart-Ahn and Shawn Kim)
Katy Perry — “I Kissed a Girl” (Director of Photography: Simon Thirlaway)
Pussycat Dolls — “When I Grow Up” (Director of Photography: Christopher Probst)
* The White Stripes — “Conquest” (Director of Photography: Wyatt Troll)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.