9th Cinemanila International Film Festival Winners

A local indie film about real-life gangsters and rappers are recognized in the recently concluded 9th Cinemanila International Film Festival. The cast of Jim Libiran's gritty Tondo film "Tribu" won the Best Ensemble in the International category of the festival. The neophyte actors of Tribu also won acting honors in Cinemalaya a couple of months ago. The complete list of winners after the jump...

Digital Lokal

Lino Award, Grand Prize | P250,000.00
Autohystoria, Raya Martin (Philippines)

Lino Grand Jury Prize | P150,000.00
Voice…, John Torres (Philippines)

Ishmael Bernal Award for Young Cinema | P70,000.00
Ernest Michael Manalastas, Delusions (Philippines)

Best Short Film | P30,000.00
The Calling, Christopher Gozum (Philippines)

International Cinema

Best ASEAN Film Award | $5,000
Mukhsin, Yasmin Ahmad (Malaysia)

Grand Prize, Lino Brocka Award | $3,000
The Edge of Heaven, Fatih Akin (Germany/Turkey)

Best ASEAN Short Film Award | $1,000
Renita, Renita, Tonny Trimarsanto (Indonesia)

Best International Short Film Award | $1,000
Waiting Time, Chul Jung (South Korea)

Other Prizes

Best Ensemble (International)
The cast of Tribu, Jim Libiran (Philippines)

Best Documentary
Neo-Lounge, Joanna Arong (Philippines)

Best Director (Digital Lokal)
Autohystoria, Raya Martin (Philippines)

Best Actress (Digital Lokal)
Ana Capri, Ala Suerte Ala Muerte (Philippines)

Maris Dimayuga, Ala Suerte Ala Muerte (Philippines)

Special Jury Prize
Persepolis, Marjana Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.